ATW80: Adam and Jess' Wedding, Goodna


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Indooroopilly
July 4th 2009
Published: November 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I really could have done with some southern fried chicken seeing that today was American Independence Day, but Graeme and I settled for Indooroopilly’s Coffee Club for a greasy breakfast. 2 days in a row I am hungover and eating dirty food, I guess I have to get used to this.

“Red Dog” made sure I got on the right train and it was good that he lived near the Ipswich line. I caught a train on this line many times before, but no train trip beats the one Robbie and I had that with the awesome train guard from Caboolture to Booval, way back in 2003. I Sherwood have wanted to see the Ippy Girls again but they have come down with the flu, so bowling didn’t take place last night. I’ll have to make sure we have a rematch the next time I am up here.

The landscape has changed a bit since I last caught the train this way, 4 years ago. Lots of new lines, reconfigured train lines and new station fixtures. The most noticeable was the freeway which was being upgraded. My friends called it the “Ipswich - Brisbane Car Park” for many years and only now is it being sorted out. Adam and Jess even went to the trouble of making sure everyone had directions to the wedding venue and even went one better with a YouTube video of how to actually get there! I had GPS on my phone to help me out for the 20 min stroll from Goodna Station to Ros and Lee’s place. Typical QLD house built on a slope, front door at street level and out the back you’ve got the garage and back patio underneath the veranda.

It was a lovely day to get married. You couldn’t have asked for a better day. The sun was shining radiantly down the driveway onto the woodchip garden, where the actual ceremony was to take place. The wind had also died down and there was still not a cloud in the sky to boot. Jake and I hung around the wheelbarrow where the beers were kept icy cold and near the back garage where the finger food was kept. What perfect positioning!

Adam and his groomsmen all wore kilts, along with Jess’ dad Richard. I did feel a bit underdressed with just a button up shirt but at least I made an effort with my shoes (I’ve only ever worn them once before - my sister’s wedding). This too was a special moment as well. Adam summed it up best when he said, “Jason and Laura did it three weeks ago, so we had to get it right today”/ I have to say that I’m no wedding bridezilla but they got it damn right. Adam said later that a few people that were invited didn’t show up, but, “the right people did show up” and it was a great honour not only to be there but to catch up with a lot of Jess’ family and friends that I met over the years plus make some new friends. I was going to miss brunch the next day but I had to get to the airport really early in the afternoon to fly on home. Richard was spent himself and I guess I had to try and find my way home before I got way too spent and end up somewhere silly…like Nambour?



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb