ATW80: Worst.Bet.Everrr


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Indooroopilly
July 3rd 2009
Published: October 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Knock Knock…
Knock Knock…
No answer.
Knock Knock…”Room Service”

I could hear the key go into the lock and I sat up in my bed looking blank. The maid also looked at me weird and then said “Ok, I’ll just come back when you check out”.
At least I wasn’t butt naked.

But yes, I had overslept and room service was here. Damnit! I hate this. At least I didn’t take anything out of my bag so I was packed and ready to go at 11am. Whoops!

Sarah was kind enough to let me kill time at her place that afternoon. The kids were here too (I soon discovered it was school holidays) and I got to watch a few more cartoons. At least it was better than watching Air Crash Investigation. Or watching the news with planes falling from the sky into the Atlantic Ocean. Who needs nervous memories before the big trip to Europe, anyway?

After being refreshed and relaxed (slightly) it was off to Brisbane to see Graeme at work and meet up with Crazy Dave. Graeme actually started working for Lion Nathan the same time that I did. Since starting in the contact centre, he has moved to work in our accounts payable section and now the finance section in QLD (XXXX Brewery). Crazy Dave is an old friend from the Six Degrees website. He’s a mad Brisbane Broncos and QLD Morons fan and since I hadn’t seen him ever, it was fitting to bring him along to tonight’s Broncos V Warriors game. Plus I lost a bet when I thought my team (the NSW Blues) would defeat QLD in State of Origin, game 2. Bastards. I put on a wager with Dave that whoever lost that game would have to wear the scarf of the opposing team, but I guess a bet is a bet and tonight I have to wear a stupid QLD scarf.

Going into the XXXX office was a little weird, because of said QLD scarf. Everyone thought I was another canetoad but I tried to explain the situation to them. I had to explain to everyone even more when Graeme’s mates, Brad and Tom, shown up, who were also coming along to the game, then I had help explaining to people when Dave showed up. Not that I really needed help, but Dave was only too willing
My beer and IMy beer and IMy beer and I

and that frigging QLD scarf...you can keep it, Dave!
to tell the story.

The best thing about XXXX is that it’s walking distance to the stadium, which is very handy if you want to have beers before the game and let me tell you I’ve had a few tonight. I had a taste of a new cider that will be out by the time you read this online, plus XXXX Bitter out of a wooden keg (to give me a bit of taste of what to expect when I am over in England - cask ales that give the beer character). I settled on a regular XXXX Bitter but was glad to hear that XXXX Gold was served at the ground; it wouldn’t be QLD’s home ground otherwise.

The game itself was epic as NZ took an early 10-0 lead. Brisbane not only lost the last four games in a row but conceded 40+ points in three of those games. But they registered some points on the scoreboard and ended up winning 28-14. I must say the atmosphere was electric at Suncorp Stadium and this stadium has to be the best ground to watch rugby league at.

Later on, Graeme, Brad and Tim went to a
Red BeardRed BeardRed Beard

Graeme
pub up the road and left in the space of 50 seconds. We went to the bottleshop and got a slab of Hahn Super Dry and got a lift back with the most awesomest Jamaican cab driver. He was, “goin to take you to Nimbin, mon” and he could have taken us to an even higher place, if he had the right stuff. Then we stayed in for beers at Graeme’s flat and went through that case between the four of us. What a good night!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0897s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb