Trip and First Days in Brisbane


Advertisement
Published: November 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Trip to Brisbane


The flight to Brisbane was in a word bearable. Compare to the flight to Denver it felt significantly shorter mostly because it is a shorter but also because of the fact that I did manage some sleep this time thanks in part to the little neck support cushion.
The In flight entertainment system on the air plain was inferior to the one on the Delta flight to Atalanta. The "where you are" screen was horribly useless and had this feel of 80's TV. The movie selection also seemed smaller than the Delta flight.
The screen felt smaller and the lack of touch screen made using it less pleasant.
I did get to watch some interesting Documentaries. The one was about a mother who counsels people that have been visited by UFO's and her son who thinks she's mad.
The food was fairly nice we had a beef curry and I managed (not surprisingly) to make a mess of my badly chosen white shirt. I felt really self conscious of the big yellow splash on my chest 😞

The Sydney airport seemed confusing to me but I think that is the case with most places you arrive at after a long haul flight. Customs was fairly painless and baggage pickup went by without a hitch. The strange little waiting area for transfers via bus to the Domestic Terminal was not really all that great. It was crazy hot in there and very crowded. The drive in the bus through the airport was fairly interesting and it would have been great it if the driver did a bit of the tourist thing and pointed out some points of interest but I suppose that could get Old fairly quickly if you got through there often.

I took a Taxi to the Oaks Charlotte Towers where I will be staying for the next month. I am glad I took Catherine's advice to take a Taxi and not the train as I was in not state to be finding my way around Brisbane looking for the Hotel.
The check in process went smoothly and I was up in my room in no time.
I am on the 39th floor and the view is amazing. I have never lived so high up in a building. The Room has a nice lay out and everything it is well furnished.
I slept like a rock and woke up at around 04:00.
I found a interesting place called the Pancake House which is in an abandoned Church just down the road from the Hotel I am staying at.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

The Mincom office from my RoomThe Mincom office from my Room
The Mincom office from my Room

It is the building with the red window things.


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb