Let's go surfin' now, Everybody's learning how...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Alexander Headland
September 7th 2009
Published: September 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Half way there!Half way there!Half way there!

I'm going to blame the lack of proof to me actually standing on the photographer........
I am officially a true Australian tourist- we took surf lessons this last weekend on the local beach! It was a ton of fun! Luckily, one of our dear old Canadian friends is an avid surfer, and taught us all for free! The surf shop across from the beach rented us boards for $30 for 24 hours…cheap entertainment I’d say! We split two boards between about 6 people, which was more then enough because surfing is exhausting! The actual getting up on the board was not so bad, it’s just getting back out against the killer waves. Needless to say, the weekend we picked to learn had the biggest waves I have seen since being in Australia! (The pictures do not do the waves justice). We braved them any way, and I actually managed to successfully stand up for more then a few seconds, and on more then one occasion. While I didn’t really feel like a pro, apparently this is a great accomplishment for my first time! I think all that synchro and snowboarding paid off to my advantage and helped me out a lil…

Ok, so I have not updated my blog in 3 weeks, and all I’ve done is attempt to surf you ask? Well basically- Yes! Life has been pretty low key lately as school has really picked up and there are a ton of assignments to be completed. Other then school and attempting to surf, my life consists of regular trips to the grocery store, doing yoga, cooking new recipes, having weekend barbeques, going to the beach, and the occasional shopping trip to check out all the various plaza’s within a reasonable bus distance! I am looking forward to finding out my practice teaching placement (age of kids and location of school) at the end of this week though and getting started on that. There are only 2 more weeks of classes after this week, then 6 weeks of prac, then…….. Vacation here I come! I can’t believe that as of yesterday I have been living down under for 2 whole months. Oh how time flies!




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

And he's off!And he's off!
And he's off!

Trev fighting the wave to get his first attempt in
Boys SurfingBoys Surfing
Boys Surfing

A picture with two people half way up- we must be pro's!!
And Now she's down...And Now she's down...
And Now she's down...

I swear between these two pictures I was standing!


7th September 2009

Looking good there kiddo
So happy things are going well. Enjoy Every minute. Love Auntie Louise xoxoxoxo
7th September 2009

Cowabunga
That looks like sooo much fun!!! Congrats on standing up!! Love the pics!
7th September 2009

Looks Fantastic!
Hey Kendra! I LOVE your blog enteries! Keep 'em coming! So cool that you went surfing over there! Looks like you're having a great time. I'm jealous and you are beginning to make me seriously consider going there for teacher's college. What school are you at anyways? Well all the best with your assignments and continue to enjoy life on the beach! :) Miss youuuu! xoxo
7th September 2009

WOw!
Great pics - again! Looks like you were having loads of fun - but can understand how tiring it would be. Thanks for the post card from Caloundra! Can't believe how time flies - 2 months already! Fall things are just starting up here - will take me a while to get back in to "busy" mode.
9th September 2009

Great pictures, enjoy your blog - - - we prefer turf to surf YNABK
17th September 2009

I wish...
Cool! I wish it were me...there...surfing..... Have fun and be safe! Ciao, ciao!
27th September 2009

Hi Kendra
My mom and I were checking out your blog - it looks like you are having some awesome adventures in Australia. Kelly T and I had an awesome time on Team Ontario. We met lots of cool girls from other teams. I wish it was longer! My coaches this year is Kelly McDonell and Erin Noll. Jess, Kelly, Kate, Katrin, Jenna and a new girl named Alison is on my team this year. It's a great and hardworking team and we are hoping to go the the Ontario/Quebec games in January. Keep on taking pictures of your adventures. Good luck at school. Zoe

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb