Airlie warning


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
October 28th 2006
Published: November 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Airlie Beach is the main departure point for cruises to the Whitsunday Islands and as such it's full of cruise agents, hostels and tat shops. Lest this sound like a miniature Cairns, I should state that it's nothing of the sort - whereas Cairns at night had a great atmosphere, Airlie Beach at night bore more than a faint whiff of English lager louts, and various girls I spoke to said they received much more unwanted hassle here than in Cairns.

One exception to this was the hostel I stayed in, where people were uniformly friendly (and 90% German). Over the course of my stay, I received free beer and an offer of a lift to Rockhampton, plus the chance to demonstrate my newfound Uno ability. On top of that, everyone seemed to think I was 30 years old - amazing.

The name of the place is a little misleading, as there's only about 10 yards of proper beach. The main sunbathing spot is a man-made lagoon which at night doubles as an open-air shagging arena. The view of the turquoise bay, littered with bobbing boats, is the most special thing about Airlie.

Nightlife concentrates on 2 main pubs, Magnums and Beaches, both sprawling affairs attached to hostels. You can fill your evenings at these with wet T-shirt contests, pole-dancing, jelly wrestling, and any other activity that 18 year old female backpackers can be persuaded to take part in when $500 is waved in front of them as an incentive for winning.

Airlie marked the first place on my east coast travels where I started having repeat encounters with people met previously. These included the 2 Dutch prize-winning goldfish racers and mad Welsh dorm-mate from Cairns, a member of my rafting boat from Mission Beach, and the weird American guy from way back when in Quorn/Port Augusta. Maaike and Denise from my scuba course also arrived - they almost qualify as old friends as I spent 5 solid days with them on the course, which is an epoch in backpacking terms. I suspect I'll be seeing all of these people, and more, on the way south.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Great swimmingGreat swimming
Great swimming

Apart from the risk of death
Magnums mayhemMagnums mayhem
Magnums mayhem

L to R: Denise, Simon, Maaike


Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 35; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb