A didgeri-good time in Airlie


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
October 29th 2013
Published: December 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Had a nice big breakfast with Adam and Amy and then I checked into my new accommodation for the next few weeks! The room was very messy and I didn't know what to think but there were only 2 bunk beds which meant 3 people plus me and it was a large room for only 4 people with a small kitchen area and an ensuite shower/toilet. I just dropped my bags off and went straight back out to meet up with Adam and Amy again.

We decided to go to the didgeridoo shop again as they really wanted to get one, when we got there I fell in love with this dark wooden one which had bark bits and knots. They also fell in love with one with aboriginal turtles on, especially after swimming with them on the whitsundays. I asked the guy in the shop if we could get a discount if we both bought one, he said if they were going to the same address in the uk then we could, as they only live in Hailsham we agreed this was ok! Not only did he give us discount off the didgeridoos but he also gave us credit to use in the store so I also got a boomerang, and a painting! I had fallen in love with an opal ring in the shop before so I also asked about the ring and he gave me 75% off the ring too!

After our shopping spree we went to the lagoon for a swim then at 6pm we went back to the didgeridoo store for a free lesson on the doos we had just bought.. Im not the best at it but will practise when I get home!

I had to rush back for my first shift at work in the bar kitchen, I had to clean, prep, take out food, and collect glasses and plates. I forgot you can't wear flip flops in the kitchen too so got told off for that! It was a bit crazy because it was the first shift and I was getting used to it but it was only 3 hours and easy kitchen work and it means my accommodation is free so it's perfect!

After work I had to say goodbye to Adam and Amy 😞 I won't see them till England now! I met a guy in my room called John who had actually cleaned some of it (yes a man actually cleaning - it was a shock!) he went out, and I read a book and went to bed.

The next day I sat out on the balcony area catching up on my diary etc but was super humid and locked myself out of my room! Yvonne is now in Airlie beach so I met up with her, we both had to do shopping so we got on the bus to Coles and the reject shop and got the bits and pieces that we needed. I had work again but we agreed to meet up and go out after.

Yvonne met me at the bar after work and we walked back to my room as I had some leftover goon! When we arrived back at the room, there was a whole group of guys sat drinking on the balcony outside, they asked if we were joining them and as we were going out anyway we said yes! I showered and got ready and then we went out. There was Tom (English), Dan (Canadian), Matt (Australian), Yan (Dutch), and John (Australian) from my room! We went to Phoenix a bar club and muma Africa's.

The next day was Halloween, I had planned going to the lagoon but was tired from the night before so just stayed in bed and chilled for most of the morning instead. Once I finally got up I met with Yvonne and we were going to catch the bus to Coles for some witches hats but the bus only comes every half hour and I wouldn't have time to get there and back before work so we walked to the shops in town and got some face paint instead.

After work the guys were all outside the room again, they were in the spare sheets from the room, pulled round like togas! We got ready and put blood and stitches on our faces and necks and we added paint to the guys too and then all went out again, i made sure I wasn't out too late as work was at 11.30 the next day.

After work it was raining so I still didn't have a chance to go to the lagoon! I was hungry so I got some nachos from the bar at work with Yvonne before she had to go on her boat trip to the whitsundays. That night tom, john, and Matt asked if I wanted to go out with them so we had a quiet night with a few beers and a mcdonalds on the way home!

The next day I realised I was getting quite bored because there's not many adventures as it's just work everyday in the same place! Luckily my shifts are getting earlier so once I've finished I have the whole day to chill and relax. Spoke to Fran and mum on the wifi, chilling in the free wifi zone in magnums even though I wasn't staying there anymore. We all had another night out on the balcony as there was a new club opening, when we got there they were charging $10 to get in when the posters had said free entry so we decided to go to Phoenix and magnums bar, with a stop at the pie shop on the way home!

Had the lunch shift again and finally went to the lagoon after to chill for a bit. i got really hot so when I got back to the room I decided to have a cold shower. after that I was freezing for the rest of the night and kept complaining to everyone how cold I was. We just had a quiet night we all went to subway and then ate them on the beach then went back and read books in bed! I felt so shivery and cold that I had to take some paracetamol as I felt like I had a fever.

The next day was my day off 😊 but woke up feeling so terrible and realised I had tonsillitis. Tom and John said they were going to drive to some water falls if I wanted to join them. I phoned the doctors to see if I could get an appointment but they couldn't see me till Thursday and it was Monday, and the thought of being in that much pain till thursday even with painkillers meant that I ran down to the chemist to see if they could give me anything! All he could give me was painkillers so I started to cry and he rang the doctors again and got me an appointment first thing the next morning! Perfect! so I dosed myself up on painkillers and went on the road trip to the waterfalls with Yvonne who had got back off the boat, john, tom, and ibrew a girl who was staying in the room. When we got to the waterfalls called cedar falls, there were no falls as there had been only the tiniest amount rain, it was very disappointing. We all decided to keep driving and go to a place called dingo beach. When we got there we tried fishing but kept getting seaweed and the tide was out a bit too far, we watched the sun setting behind the trees and mountains and then headed back. We were driving back at dusk so we saw loads of kangaroos jumping at the side of the road. The plan was to go out when we got back but I was ill so I just went to bed and set my alarm ready for the doctors.

Woke up and went to the doctors and got my tablets WHOOOOP! It was tom and johns last night and Yvonne was thinking she wanted to leave too, I told work I was ill so I didn't have a shift that night so I suggested that we go out to dominos together and get a $5 pizza each as a leaving meal as I couldn't actually go out being ill! Everyone liked the idea so that was the plan, all I did during the day was sleep, go on the travel bugs website, and play snap! Then we went and had our dominos!

Had to wake up early for the breakfast shift and because I had to make up hours from the shift I didn't do the day before. It wasn't too bad because the chef I was with gets tonsillitis a lot and was really understanding. Tom and John waited to say goodbye to me before they left and we sat on the beach for a bit just before they left. I felt a bit lost without them that night so I cleaned up and put some art on the walls to make it more homely I still needed to rest so after that I read my book and ate popcorn in bed!

Felt much better the next morning, even had to kill a small cockroach which flew out of the wall at me in the bathroom. It did make me a few minutes late for work but the chef didn't mind and made me fried eggs on toast! Yum! Went back and had a little nap then headed to the lagoon for a rest in the sun. Cooked myself 'burger meatballs' with pasta and sauce. Spoke to mummy again and then went to bed.

A new guy came into the room the next morning called Jack and he is from Guilford, he is working the morning shift at the coffee stand so I actually saw him the day before but didn't know! He is travelling with a girl called Chloe. There was a music festival in airlie starting that day so it was fairly busy around the town and at work. I walked down to the little supermarket as I was fed up with instant noodles especially after being ill so I bought some sweet chilli philli and some crackers and pigged out back at the room. Later that night Chloe had finished work at the bar and was having dinner there so we went to join her, jack was tired so he just went back but we carried on and went to magnums to have a dance, afterwards we sat and had a mcdonalds hunger buster meal!

Work was really hot and humid the next day do I just kept drinking plenty of water, when I got back jack was going to the shop so I asked if he would get me some chocolate and I stayed behind and had a nap! When he got back we went to chill at the lagoon, it was nice to enjoy the sun as I felt like I hadn't seen it for a few days! fran skyped me from a club that afternoon I could only heare music but it was funny to think it was the middle of the afternoon! That evening I cleaned up a bit and skyped with mum, Lizzie, and Robert for a catch up then went to bed.

another early morning shift, tried to nap when I got back but couldn't sleep so finished off the crackers and then headed to the lagoon with jack and the German guys in our room. jack had the late shift in the bar and so did the German guys so I got in my pjs and settled in bed for a relaxing evening, then jack came in from work and said.. 'you don't look like you're ready to go out!' So 10 mins later I was out of bed and ready and grabbing a drink from the bar! We went to paddys an Irish bar with good live music, we had a pie and then to jacks friend from the bars apartment for more drinks! I was tired and wanted to enjoy my day off so walked home and text dad on the way as it was his birthdaY the next day but it was after midnight!

Day off but the weather was rubbish it was so muggy Nd rainy so I just made jack and I lots of tea! Jack had work but I agreed to walk to dominos for $5 dollar pizza and bring one back for him to eat after work. He let me borrow his laptop in return so I watched time travellers wife. Jack came back and we had cup of tea and pizza!

I got another lie in because I swapped my shift with the German guy in the room so was working the evening shift. The weather was still pretty bad but I decided that I needed to plan the rest of my trip because I was getting extremely bored staying in airlie for so long! I went to the reception to book my accommodation for the full moon party on magnetic island as it was the same chain of company but they said I had to buy a whole package with the ferry ticket, accommodation, and the party ticket, even though I already had my ticket and would be going to the island early so wouldn't use my ferry ticket either! It was a nightmare trying to book it and was a really stupid policy, but finally they agreed to refund my ticket if I couldn't re sell it. So I booked the greyhound bus, booked my koala champagne breakfast, and booked my skydive - ahhhhhhhh! I had dominos pizza for lunch again and then went to work. After work there was a party for one of the Germans birthday so we had a few celebratory drinks and then I met up with some guys I had met with john, tom, and Matt, we went to paddys and umma Africa's - which was empty and we were the only ones in there!

My shift at work the next day was horrible because I had to scrub the wall over the fryer and the hob it was soo hot and was giving me a headache and after I just went back to bed for a nap and slept till half 2! I athe leftover pizza with jack and had a cup of tea and then we all walked to the shop for an ice cream. Two girls I met in surfers paradise Jana and Jennifer were also working for accommodation at the bar so they invited us for drinks especially as everyone working there gets 50% off which was everyone except me, I wasn't drinking anyway so it didn't matter but they could have got them for me anyway. We all went to paddys for the live music and then to muma Africa's for a dance and it was a lot busier than the night before!

Very muggy at work again, and just had a lazy day because of the weather, skyped with mum in the evening, and went to beaches backpackers for their $13 meal deal it was yummy!

Rained again the next day was getting very annoyed as the tan was fading! Cleaned the room after work as there wasn't much else to do and the Germans had left it messy after checking out! Jack and I had a movie night with choclate snowballs!

Pretty much the same the next day with work and the rain, skyped mum whilst eating noodles with sweet chilli sauce! in the evening jack and I went to see everyone at the bar working, they joined us after their shift and we met some guys from Townsville who were telling me all about the full moon party on magnetic island as they go a lot because the ferry leaves from Townsville. We went to the new nightclub called boom and managed to get in for free because we all worked at the bar which used the same security staff - I didn't correct them by saying that I worked in the kitchen of the bar! It was a really funny and good night.

Hated work the next day it was so tiring after such a happy and fun night, I got straight back into bed after. I started packing up a few bits as it was only a few days till I was leaving and I was just finishing a few bits on my bed when I saw a cockroach on my bed - I screamed! I got it on the floor by shaking my pillow and then grabbed a cleaning spray and sprayed it as it had landed upside down. I grabbed a tissue to clean it up but as I touched it it jumped back to life and ran under the wall - it was only fake dead! I was so annoyed it had got away. We all went to the bar for a meal and then stayed for work, I started watching a movie on jacks laptop when Chloe walks in because she's been sent home as they were over staffed. We walked to the shop got some popcorn and chocolate and then went back to hers to watch a movie, think it was called eyes of March or something - the ending was slightly disappointing.

It was my last shift the next day whooooooop! I had wanted to go to the lagoon after work but it started to rain again - damn the wet season in Australia! I repacked my bag and put it by the door, but the power went out so I had to put my flip flops on and run out into the rain to find the fuse box, I was wading through puddles around the block to try and find it but finally found it and flicked the switch back on! I left my flip flops to dry by my case. When I went to put my dry flip flops back in my bag I saw a cockroach in my bag as I had left it unzipped by the door - I screamed again and whacked my bag until It crawled out, it was so fast it got to the bathroom before I squashed it with my flip flop! Jenifer and I watched tangled on jacks laptop while they were all at work. We were supposed to be going out when they finished as it was my last night but everyone was so tired that we all just said goodbye and went to bed and that suited me as the coach was quite early the next morning.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb