I can breath under water!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
March 18th 2006
Published: March 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well scuba lessons are crazy! There's heaps of stuff to learn. Everything from getting nitrogen blubbles in your blood if you surface to quickly, to calculating how long your air lasts at certain depths. Then, theres all the equipment, getting it on (soooo heavy) and checking everything before you jump into the water.

So our first 2 days we learnt the underwater signals (including the out of air signal which I hope I never have to use), we learnt how to become neutrally buoyant - basically hovering in the water so you don't harm coral or touch the ocean bottom. Hmmmm what else....we had massive amounts of homework and wrote 5 tests, including a final exam which we both passed. I have a huge textbook that we went through in 2 days.

We are supposed to go out on the Great Barrier Reef for 3 days on Tuesday, but there is a chance it might be cancelled due to storm approaching the reef. I will be so dissapointed if it is. Our instructor told us we would probably get to see some reef sharks, sea turtles, and manta rays (along with the 15,000 species of fish) Thats so freaking cool.

Anyways Ill keep ya posted. Tenneal and I are having a pretty slack beach day. We went out for St. Patties day last night. No one told me the bars are open until 6am....who knew? This place just gets better and better...😊

Cheers!!!!!

Advertisement



19th March 2006

:o)
wow... you are having such an amazing time.. i LOVE your updates and hearing your smiles and energy come pouring thru your words!! i cannot wait to get to the land of aus myself one day.. when i am healthy that is!! and when i can truly appreciate all that the land can offer.. stay well!! i cannot wait to hear about the barrier reef ~~ stay safe sistah.. my little pumperknickel!! ... love and hugs hollY
20th March 2006

Airlie Beach Rocks
Wow - your in my favorite place in the world right now. Enjoy the Whitsundays and the Great Barrier Reef. Take lots of pics for me.
20th March 2006

nice f*ckin shoes!!!
Hey dude! Wow u weren't lyin' 'bout those shoes...especially the part about them being so ugly that they're cool....true that!!! I must say that I'm extremely jealous and am now seriously considering going there for my honeymoon! Anyways have fun scuba diving, and don't get eatin by a shark. Stay safe, love ya....Angel
20th March 2006

Sure hope you're ok!
Let all of us know that you are ok after that Cyclone. Hoping for the best...

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0811s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb