The Aussie Diaries: Looking at a Rock


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Uluru
September 25th 2000
Published: November 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Outback CrowdsOutback CrowdsOutback Crowds

Some of my closest friends and I gathered to watch the sunset at Uluru.
It's Monday night and I'm lying on a stretcher near Uluru. The stars are so clear in the desert sky. At first today I was just bumming about how this tour wasn't like the Kakadu dreams tour and how all the same people weren't hear. But then I realized. HEY FOOL YOU'RE IN THE OUTBACK IN AUSTRALIA. Snap out of it. This is where you have wanted to be for ages. I shouldn't get down about what wasn't, but rather should be stoked about what was. Ayers Rock was just as I suspected. It was a rock. It was there and nice to look at, but Bill Bryson blew out of proportion in his book. Tomorrow we wake up ridiculously early for an early morning walk around it.



Note: The Aussie Diaries are a XX part series. The entries come directly unabridged from the journal I carried around with me on my first post-university adventure to the southern hemisphere. They are a bit on the rough side.


added october 31, 2005

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb