Karama - Part 2


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin » Karama
May 24th 2009
Published: August 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Charles Darwin UniversityCharles Darwin UniversityCharles Darwin University

Time for graduation!
Up to this point, I had worked about a week at Charles Darwin University (CDU, the only university in the Northern Territory) as a custodian. I wasn’t guaranteed work for our entire stay in Darwin, but they said they’d need me for a couple more weeks at least.

The work consisted of a lot of small jobs around the university. I worked with John, who was a full time employee at CDU. Those first few days I also worked with Gill, who like myself was an employee of Julia Ross, a temp agency. Most jobs at the uni were what you’d expect as a custodian: moving furniture, setting up for functions and removing useless items. The university has other staff as cleaners and maintenance employees, so we were basically the heavy lifters. A good way to keep active, considering I wouldn’t be lifting my big backpack for the next little while. lol

This was actually graduation time at the school (mid to late May). So we were setting up plenty of functions, like seating for ceremonies, tables for dinners, and so on… Another big thing was that plenty of professors were moving offices around the campus. Unfortunately a lot
Charles Darwin University - 2Charles Darwin University - 2Charles Darwin University - 2

To my surprise, it took a long time to set out all those chairs.
of them wanted to bring their desk and bookshelves along for the ride. You’d be surprised how much of that stuff doesn’t fit through standard doorways without some kind of crazy twisting and turning. Not the most fun thing to do. Poor John really isn’t a fan of it either. He’s a really easy going guy, but when things aren’t going his way, he tends to get a bit frustrated. But we always have a laugh about it afterwards, especially when pulls me aside and says “Hey Kevin, ya know I’m not having a go with you, it’s just this damn INSERT FURNITURE HERE”. Haha

Now that I was working in the territory, there was one thing that needed to be learnt if I was to fit in. Drinking beer. Now anyone who knows me knows that I don’t really drink. I have a bit of alcohol when I visit friends (usually at university), and that’s it. I could probably count the nights I really had alcohol on a single hand. This was about to change, and it couldn’t have happened in a more casual way. Sunday (May 24) I was on my way back from the library. As
Charles Darwin University - 3Charles Darwin University - 3Charles Darwin University - 3

Would you believe that the power actually went out during the ceremony? At least it was a graduation to remember.
I stepped off the bus, I hear a shout. It was John calling me over. You see, the bus stops right in front of the shopping centre (more like a strip mall), which has the pub right in the front. He invited me into his “second home” to meet his friends. Tania, his wife says it should be called his “first home” though. Lol Anyways, I had a few Carlton Draughts (full strength beer) and mingled with the locals. After my fourth beer (over a few hours), it was time to head home. Thank god it’s only a short 5 minute walk door to door, because as soon I was home I was fast asleep. Hillary was working this night, so she didn’t get the opportunity to laugh at me when I got back, but she did get to make fun of the slurred voicemail I left her while walking home. This was my first true experience “with the piss” here in Australia. But let’s just says it would not be my last…

In fact, the next time would come on Brooke’s (Hillary’s sister) birthday! I stopped into the Karama Tavern with John after work that Wednesday. I knew
Charles Darwin University - 4Charles Darwin University - 4Charles Darwin University - 4

The campus is designed with the climate in mind. Nice outdoor areas for the warm weather, covered walkways for the wet season.
that if I stayed too long I’d end up in bed when I got home, so I only stayed for a couple. But even that was enough to make me fairly tipsy. Even more I was still wobbling hours later when we went out that night to ring up Brooke. Calling home tends to be a bit of a challenge due to the time difference. We’re 13.5 hours ahead, so to call home at a decent hour, we need to either call in the morning (9am here is 7:30pm in Toronto) or at night (10pm here is 8:30am in Toronto). Morning makes more sense for us, but then work usually gets in the way. Anyways, Hillary ended up doing most of the chatting. I think all I did was shout Happy Birthday by the end of it while sitting on the curb. Haha

I know the blog’s been a little heavy on me lately, but not to worry. Hillary will be soon writing an entry about her work experiences just like
Charles Darwin University - 5Charles Darwin University - 5Charles Darwin University - 5

The middle of the campus has a green space that snakes down cutting it for the most part in half.
I did today! Be sure to look forward to it!

Kevin


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Charles Darwin University - 6Charles Darwin University - 6
Charles Darwin University - 6

This side of the library overlooks the green space and other university buildings.
Charles Darwin University - 7Charles Darwin University - 7
Charles Darwin University - 7

This side of the library overlooks the remaining green space and the ocean which is just beyond the neighbouring woods.
Charles Darwin University - 8Charles Darwin University - 8
Charles Darwin University - 8

Some of the remaining greenery.


Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 79; dbt: 0.1614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb