more Darwin


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin » City of Darwin
August 27th 2011
Published: September 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

A big reason why so many travelers come up to Darwin is because it is the gateway to Kakadu national park. I had always planned to go into Kakadu and Litchfield national parks when I came up here but with my ribs being broken it just didn't make sense to spend the money on going into these parks when I can barely enjoy them.

Kakadu has more of the aboriginal culture in it with heaps of rock art that you have climb over rocks to get to. Litchfield is more about waterfalls and swimming holes. I'm really disappointed I had to miss these two parks but I think my ribs are thanking me.

I caught a bus over to the free Darwin museum and art gallery which has some good displays of the area and a really good display on Cyclone Tracy that destroyed much of Darwin in the 1970's. It happened around christmas time.

Darwin has been rebuilt twice and is now a thriving city. So far it's been one of my favorite cities in Australia. It's very easy going and lots of markets and it's a pretty city.

On saturday there was another market similar to the Mindil beach markets. I hopped on a bus to get over to them. I spent much of the day just wandering around the market. I love a good market! I spent the rest of the day booking and organizing my trip down through the "red center".




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



9th September 2011

Termite mounds
They are CRAZY!!!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb