The trip so far


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin » City of Darwin
October 22nd 2009
Published: October 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sunset at Ubirr, KakaduSunset at Ubirr, KakaduSunset at Ubirr, Kakadu

"Wish you were here"
Been on the road now 3 weeks, all is travelling well. I've had some fun, some dramas, and some laughs along the way. It's wonderful to see your own country, nothing like what I was expecting. Only had a few mishaps, one being a foot infection day 4 into my big trip. Got held up for 2 days for the swelling to go down so i could drive. It was from a mozzie bite, so now I have become the mozzie repellent queen and no mozzie would get within a 20 metre radius of my campsite! The other drama was a blown tyre in Kakadu, but I am happy to say i can successfully change a truck tyre! So I think I am doing quite well!

It's funny, yes it's a big country, but it really doesn't feel like it. You drive along and the towns roll on, you keep meeting up with the same people, you see the same cars everywhere. i should have started a 'wicked' campervan count... i would be in triple figures by now. No but honestly, it feels like a small country.

It's been hot, really hot. Not so bad when there is a nice croc-free waterhole to swim in, but at night in a stuffy van, it's hot! I must admit, I am alittle sleep deprived at the moment, so please excuse me if this doesn't make any sense.

So anyway i hope you like the pictures, get to see what i am up to anyway. It might all seem abit backwards cause I only just got the travel blog set up here in Darwin. I have tried to keep it in some sort of order but it doesn't matter. I know you are intelligent people and you will work it out!

My favourite places so far have been Lawn Hill NP QLD, Bitter Springs NT and Edith Falls NT. Kakadu was nice, especially around Yellow Waters, but it's just so dry there at the moment and the flys would send you crazy!
I will be pushing off from Darwin next week, heading back down south to Adelaide and then over the Nullabor to WA. Really looking forward to getting to the west coast. Can't wait to have a swim in the ocean again!



Advertisement



27th October 2009

From the West
Looking forward to you hitting the west coast too! The ocean is slowly warming up, well relatively anyway, probably about 21 degrees now. I have big plans for you Miss! There will be diving, and kayaking with the seals. We'll cycle around rotto. If you're keen we'll do a dolphin swim too. New pub has opened up (walking distance from my place!), full of very spunky blokes on a Sunday arvo, i'm guessing you might want to add that to your itinerary too! Woohoo summer! So friggin excited! I'll stock up on mozzie coils haha xx
27th October 2009

Hi hunny!!! Wow - you are really moving! Love seeing your picis and reading your stories. I have tried to call you every now and then but I just cant get through! Looks like you are having fun and visiting some beautiful places. I am sure you are making friends everywhere you go (the little socialite that you are :-). Miss your company and hope that you will return to us one day. All is well at the beach xo
28th October 2009

We just have to meet up somewhere!
Hello!! We're so excited for you! Can't believe where you've seen already, go you!!! We're in Exmouth at the moment and the snorkelling is AWESOME!! We've seen lots of reef sharks and even swam with one yesterday, loads of turtles - you inspired us well on the GBR!! We're heading slowly, ish, down the west coast now so we'll keep in touch and meet somewhere for the camp fire! Funnily enough I was talking about you only yesterday and wondering how you were and every time we see a Delica we wave hello just in case!!! Take care Love and all the best from Darryl and Sarah x
1st November 2009

Awesome
Hiya Hun, So inspiring reading your about your journey... I totally love hearing what you've been up to! Would love to catch up with you in WA, so keep me posted on where you end up. By the way thank you so much for the lovely gift... it made my day! I totally love it, you know me too well... thank you thank you thank you! Anyway i've got some more reading of your posts to do! Keep safe sweetie, all my thoughts and a big hug, Sam x
4th November 2009

Jappy!!!!!!
Hiya Jappy I am loving this travel blog of yours- i feel like im enjoying it with you! I got a real visual of you changing that bloody truck beastly tyre! I bet you have met some real characters on your travels. If you are goimg to go down to RADelaide let me know We will be heading overethere via broken hill on December 19th going to Whyalla to stay with a friend then down to Kangeroo Island. Taking Preston on his first big road trip. So glad you are doing this blog Jappy I miss you soooooo much. If you come back up through NSW come to the Horse stud its so beautiful out here! Lots a luv Erin x

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb