Byron Bay (part II)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
May 17th 2012
Published: May 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hmm, yes, we returned to town… So to some degree, the Lonely Planet prophecy seemed to be coming true: Byron Bay drew us back in. I suppose it’s because there is so much to do and life is easy as everything is here. Besides, it was on our northbound route. We headed back to the Arts Factory to have dinner, watch a very entertaining gig by Cockatoo Paul at the Byron Bay Brewing Company’s Buddha Bar and check back into our van space in the car park.



The next day was pretty sensational and started with an amazing breakfast of raw vegetable juice from the café + my concoction of toasted muesli with coconut yoghurt, berry compote and almond milk topped with banana and nuts. Dean had some chill-out time with his book while I mooched around town and took part in a bongo drumming lesson. An hour and a half later I was knackered! It really isn’t as easy as it looks, but it’s a lot of fun. Please don’t judge me for sharing this story with you: at the beginning of the class I sat down next to a girl with very long dreadlocks… It didn’t take long to realise that it didn’t smell so nice right there… A little while later, she leaned over to me, sniffed me and said ‘wow, you smell nice’… Bless her, she was lovely and much better at the drums than me, but those dreads needed a wash!



In the evening we walked into town and to the beach to watch the surfers and the sunset. Just as we were leaving a group of drummers arrived and started doing their thing. Very nice.




Oddly, I do actually feel a little sad that we will be leaving Byron Bay tomorrow. I had not expected to warm to it but after a week I feel reasonably comfortable here. Of course, I feel entirely comfortable in Lennox Head :-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb