The country music festival in Tamworth, NSW, Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Tamworth
February 5th 2013
Published: February 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

I spend the last 2 weeks of January in Tamworth to see the country music festival, and that was really cool!

The country music festival in Tamworth, is one of the top ten music festival in the world and the second biggest country music festival. It started in 1973 and lasted at this time, just the long weekend of Australia Day. It is today 10 days long officially, but the week leading to the festival (known as the countdown week), you can already hear some good bands in the pubs of the town.

I didn't really know anything about country music before coming to the festival, so I did a bit of research, but to be honest, I'm not quite sure I did get everything right! The word "Country Music" emerge in the 1920s, but the roots of country music go back as far as the 17th century and are found in the US, where immigrants from the British Island, Ireland, Germany, Italy and Spain, mixed their own music with the music of the African slaves. This first style of music is known as Old Time Music. The instruments used were the fiddle and the banjo, then more instruments were added, like guitar, mandolin, double bass. As different styles emerged, more instruments were used: Harmonica, jug, accordion, washboard, spoons, bones.... Old time music is the roots of lots of contemporary music: Rock, blues, jazz, folk, country (and probably more).

Nowadays, there is a lot of different styles linked to country music and you can hear most of them during the festival: Classic country, Bluegrass, Country rock, Folk, Urban country, Alternative country, Rockabilly, Country Rock'n'roll, Yodeling...

During 10 days, the main street of Tamworth become pedestrian and people are able to busk. The street is known as "the boulevard of dreams", as a few of the well known country singers in Australia, were discovered there. And every pub, hotel and venue have bands singing from as early as 8am to late at night. So during 10 days, you can hear some music almost 24/7.

I did experience the festival a bit differently that I intended to, as I worked for a band, The Hillbilly Goats, selling their CDs during their gigs. I went to their first gig and absolutely felt in love with their music. After a few chat with them, they asked me if I was interested in selling their CDs, so I obviously said yes, as it made me earn a bit of money and I could be at all their gigs, which was find by me!

The first time the word Hill-Billie was used in a journal in 1900, they give this definition (that I absolutely love!) : "a Hill-Billie is a free and untrammeled white citizen of Alabama, who lives in the hills, has no means to speak of, dresses as he can, talks as he pleases, drinks whiskey when he gets it, and fires off his revolver as the fancy takes him." So this wasn't really a nice word. Hillbilly music use to be a synonym of bluegrass or old time music, then the word felt in desuetude.

But anyway, this band, The Hillbilly Goats, are absolutely amazing. On stage, they are energetic, fun, talented and you just want to jump around when you listen to them. Go check their website to know a bit more about them, they are really worth it: www.hillbillygoats.com.au or you can see their Facebook page www.facebook.com/Hillbillygoats.

So between their gigs and trying to see as many bands I could, this was 2 busy weeks.

I also meet a really lovely family who was camping next to me: Jan, Bluey, Kerry and Pete (The Italian cowboy with a great voice to sing country music). They welcomed me as a part of their family and it was so nice! So when I left Tamworth after the festival, I went to Newcastle for a couple of days to visit them. Then I headed to my next adventure. I'm now house-sitting on the central coast, a gorgeous house in the middle of the forest. But that will be for my next post.

Until then, take care!

PS: check my 2 videos. One shows some of the bands I saw, and one is a medley of some of the songs of The Hillbilly Goats. And as always, there is more pictures below the text.

















Salut tout le monde,

J'ai passé les 2 dernières semaines de Janvier à Tamworth pour voir le festival de musique country et c'était vraiment cool!

Le festival de country de Tamworth est l'un des dix premiers festivals de musique dans le monde et le deuxième plus grand festival de musique country. Tout a commencé en 1973 et s'étalait à l'époque sur le long week-end de la fête nationale australienne. C'est aujourd'hui un festival qui dure 10 jours officiellement, mais pendant la semaine précédant le festival (connue sous le nom de la semaine compte à rebours), des concerts sont déjà organisés dans les pubs de la ville.

Je ne connaissait pas grand chose á la musique country, alors j'ai fait un peu de recherches, mais pour être honnête, je ne suis pas sûre d'avoir tout dans l'ordre! Le mot "Country Music" a commencé a être utilisé dans les années 1920, mais les racines de la musique country remontent aussi loin que le 17ème siècle aux États-Unis, où les immigrants des Iles Britanniques, d'Irlande, d'Allemagne, d'Italie et d'Espagne, ont mélangé leurs musiques avec celles des esclaves africains. Ce premier style de musique est connue sous le nom de Old Time music (la musique du vieux temps). Les instruments utilisés étaient le violon et le banjo, puis plus d'instruments ont été ajoutés, comme la guitare, la mandoline, la contrebasse. Des styles différents ont émergés et plus d'instruments ont été utilisés: Harmonica, jug, accordéon, planche à laver, les cuillères, l'os .... Ce style est a l'origine de beaucoup de musiques contemporaines: Rock, blues, jazz, folk, country (et probablement plus).

De nos jours, il ya beaucoup de styles différents lié à la country et presque tous, se retrouvent au festival: Classique country, Bluegrass, Country rock, folk, country urbaine, country alternatif, Rockabilly, Country western swing, Rock'n ' roll, Yodeling ...

Pendant 10 jours, la rue principale de Tamworth devient piétonne et les gens jouent dans la rue. La rue est appelée" le boulevard des rêves", car quelques-uns des chanteurs de country bien connus en Australie, y ont été découverts. Chaque pub, hôtel et salle de spectacle organise des concerts dès 8h du matin à tard dans la nuit. Ainsi, pendant 10 jours, il est possible d'écouter de la musique presque 24h sur 24!

J'ai expérimenté le festival un peu différemment de ce que j'avais prévu, car j'ai travaillé pour un groupe, The Hillbilly Goats (littéralement "les chèvres Hillbilly") : je vendais leurs CD pendant leurs concerts. Je suis allée à leur premier concert et suis tombée amoureuse de leur musique. Après quelques conversations avec eux, ils m'ont demandée si j'étais intéressée pour vendre leurs CD, et j'ai bien évidemment accepté, car cela me faisait gagner un peu d'argent et j'étais présente á tous leurs concerts, ce qui me convenait parfaitement!

Le mot Hill-Billie a été utilisé pour la première fois dans un journal en 1900, et ils en donnaient cette définition (que j'adore!): "Hill-Billie un est un citoyen blanc d'Alabama, libre et sans entraves, qui vit dans les collines, n'a aucun moyen de subsistance, s'habille comme il peut, parle comme il veut, boit du whisky quand il en a, et utilise son revolver quand la fantaisie lui en prend. " Ce n'était pas vraiment joli mot! Le terme Hillbilly associé a la musique était utilisé comme un synonyme de la musique bluegrass ou de la Old Time Music, puis le mot est tombé en désuétude.

Pour revenir aux Hillbilly Goats, ils sont absolument incroyables. Sur scène, ils sont énergiques, fun, talentueux et j'avais envie de sauter partout en les écoutant. Allez voir leur site pour les connaître un peu plus, ils en valent vraiment la peine: www.hillbillygoats.com.au ou vous pouvez voir leur page Facebook www.facebook.com /Hillbillygoats.

Entre leurs concerts et essayer de voir d'autres groupes, ces 2 semaines sont passées très vite.

J'ai aussi rencontré une famille vraiment adorable, qui campait à côté de moi: Jan, Bluey, Kerry et Pete (Le cow-boy italien avec une superbe voix de country). Ils m'ont accueilli comme un membre de leur famille et c'était vraiment agréable! Alors, quand j'ai quitté Tamworth après le festival, je suis allée à Newcastle pour quelques jours pour leur rendre visite. Puis je me suis dirigée vers ma prochaine aventure. Je fait maintenant du house-sitting sur la côte centrale, une maison magnifique au milieu de la forêt. Mais cela sera pour mon prochain article.

En attendant, prenez soin de vous!

Ps: allez jeter un coup d'œil sur mes vidéos. L'une est un medley de certains groupes que j'ai vu, l'autre de quelques chansons des Hillbilly Goats. Et comme d'habitude, il y a d'autre photos en dessous du texte.


Additional photos below
Photos: 72, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



5th February 2013

Congratulations on the front page.
In the world music forum there is a thread where you can post information on music festivals. You should add some information for others. Looks like you had a great time! Love bi-lingual blogs.
5th February 2013

Good advice. I'll put all the information I can in the forum. Thanks for the idea!
6th February 2013
17-

C'est le p'tit pépé qui danse sur la vidéo. J'adore son trip.
6th February 2013
21-

Quand je traduis ça me donne textuellement : debout près de mon ampli basse causera ta culotte pour humidifier paire de rechange peut être nécessaire. Soit ça chauffe, soit ça vibre, hum j'aimerai bien la traduction exacte. Bises. maman
11th February 2013
21-

tu n'es pas loin! En tout cas tu as l'idee principale!
6th February 2013
22- Kerry, Pete, Jan and Blue, the lovely familly who welcome me as one of them

Alors c'est la petite famille qui t'a accueillie à Newcastle ?
11th February 2013
22- Kerry, Pete, Jan and Blue, the lovely familly who welcome me as one of them

Oui c'est eux. Et ils sont vraiment adorables.
6th February 2013
40-

Le bracelet rouge est pour faire de la musique je suppose ? j'adore ses bottes.
11th February 2013
40-

Oui c'est des mini cymbales.
6th February 2013
39-

Chouette photo
6th February 2013
42-

chouette photo
6th February 2013
44-Playing the wash board/ En train de jouer de la "planche a laver"

J'adore
6th February 2013
45-

Tu peux expliquer cette photo ?
11th February 2013
45-

Pendant le show, les Hillbilly Goats, jouent du "cochon"! Je te ferai ecouter leur cds.
6th February 2013
55-

J'aime bien cette photo.
6th February 2013
63-

Trop mignon
6th February 2013
64-The Italian cowboy

Un vrai beau sourire
6th February 2013
73-Camp site

Tu n'as pas loupé l'arc en ciel juste au-dessus du camping.
6th February 2013
68-

Merci pour ce beau reportage sur la country, on y était vraiment...et les deux vidéos nous mettent dans l'ambiance, ça fait du bien. Bisous mon cœur.

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 15; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0867s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb