Times Like These


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Tamworth
June 13th 2009
Published: July 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

There are times in life when things happen that completely shake you up and it takes a little while to find your feet again. There are times when you wish you could turn back the clock and have a 'do-over'. There are things that really make you question everything you know and everything important to you, forcing you to dig deep to work out 'what next?' But in the immortal words of the Foo Fighters...'It's times like these you learn to live again. It's times like these you give and give again. It's times like these you learn to love again. It's times like these, time and time again'.

I had a personal one of these times this past month and had to take an unexpected trip home to sort out some family dramas. Anyone who knows me, knows how tricky my family history has been. A lot of crappy things have happened over the years and whilst the catalyst for my last minute visit home was another of these, this time brought with it some true joy.

I was home for a grand total of a week, flying in at 6am one Saturday and out again at 3pm the next. It was a chaotic whirlwind journey spanning Sydney, Newcastle and Tamworth. I failed to see any of my friends, most of whom didn't even know I was back, and it was a week truly all about family. The highlight of this week was being reunited with loved ones I thought I'd lost. After many years apart, I saw my three younger sisters again. I can't express how surreal but amazing it felt to meet the gorgeous, kind, smart and courageous women they've become. It was one of those sparkly moments. I also spent some really good quality time with Adam's family as well as some quality time with Del too. I managed to squeeze in quality time with my Sydney family, as well as a cup of tea with my soul sister.

It was the most emotionally exhausting, physically challenging weeks I've lived through in a long time and I am still paying for it with a persistent illness now that I'm back in the UK. But this one crazy week reminded me of something I've long known but had perhaps forgotten...that crappy times can lead to the most unexpected joys. A the proverb goes, 'the soul would have no rainbows, if the eyes had no tears'. Despite the tears, it was a rainbow week for me.

Advertisement



19th July 2009

A chance meeting
Just a few words (much belated regrettably) to say that seeing you at Goldbergs that night Panda was a surreal moment for me too and I was only too sorry that it was not under much better circumstances for the courageous woman that I met in kindergarten. You have been in my thoughts, my old and golden friend.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb