Kris's Alternative Guide to Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
July 16th 2014
Published: July 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to the first instalment of my multi-part series, Kris's Alternative (Bohemian) Guide to Sydney!

I've lived in Sydney all my life. While the Opera House and the Harbour Bridge and Bondi Beach are all beautiful, there are people like me we want a bit more. We want something alternative. Something artsy. A place where records hang from the ceilings, or paintings adorn the walls. We want something "boho".

When I visited Berlin, I did the Alternative Berlin Tour (http://alternativeberlin.com/) and thoroughly enjoyed soaking up what the art-driven city had to offer in its underground. Whilst I don't think Sydney can quite live up to Berlin in its creativity, there is certainly more than meets the eye if you're willing to peer inside under the the surface, and explore beyond the more obvious spots found in travel brochures and sponsored adverts.

That's what I hope this series will offer. I'll list one place per blog, in no particular order, and I expect to name around 50 places. The first one just happens to be my number one favourite:


White Rabbit Gallery, Chippendale




This is not a large place. It's not even pretty to look at from the outside, housed in a somewhat old building on the corner of Wellington and Balfour Street, Chippendale. But there's something special about it which you can feel as soon as you step in the door. It's almost Alice-In-Wonderland like, befitting the name. Bright white pristine interiors contrast the generally gritty surrounds of local Chippendale, which is home to a number of galleries and various street art. To your left will as you walk in will be the Teahouse serving all kinds of Chinese-grown teas that you'd struggle to find anywhere else in Sydney. To your right will be the entrance to the artworks on display. The private owners invest in Chinese art, and put on entirely new displays every three months. My favourite I saw there I've attached in the photos: Shi Zhiying's "High Seas" - an extraordinarily simple yet awe-inspiring painting of an ocean's horizon. I've always loved looking into the water for it's solemnity, and this artwork captures that beautifully. There can be wonder in simplicity.

The venue also holds book clubs once a month, and other artsy events. The staff are wonderful - you don't feel they're working for the dollar but for a love of the place and its art which is infectious. Keep an eye on their website and their Facebook:

http://www.whiterabbitcollection.org/

https://www.facebook.com/WhiteRabbitGallery?fref=ts

If you come to Sydney and don't stop by White Rabbit Gallery, I'd feel that your trip was somewhat amiss. It's completely free entry. And it's simply a must-visit.

How to get there:

Simply jump off a train at Central train station, and walk about 5-7 minutes towards Redfern on Lee Street. Alternatively, just look for the big Central Park building and head towards there.

Advertisement



16th July 2014

like it!
Great idea Kris - I've wanted to go to The White Rabbit Gallery ever since the queue for the opening was too long to wait it. You've inspired me to go back and have a look. All the best for your blog; great idea!
17th July 2014

Thanks!
Nice to hear! Might have to put Maya on there next. Haha

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb