To the Other Side of the World for One Day! Bloody Dingos Mate!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
April 1st 2014
Published: April 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

As mentioned in my previous blog in Singapore, I embarked on an 8 day trip with a night in Singapore, then onto Sydney for one night and back to Singapore again. So after one night in Singapore flew down to Sydney where we stay for about 36hours. Got to hotel about 8am on the Tuesday 1st April and left at 3pm on the Wednesday. One of the main reasons that I became cabin crew was for the opportunity to come back to Sydney as I had travelled Australia 3 years ago, in which I spent about 8months in Oz and 5 of those months I lived in Sydney. Was such a fantastic opportunity and got to meet so many great people, most of whom I try and keep in touch with and can visit whenever I fly to where they live around the world. Unfortunately pretty much all of the people that I met when travelling have left Australia. However when I come back with work I usually meet up with one of my friends called Saara, from school, who has been out in Australia for two years now. So I had a nap once I got to hotel until about midday then went out to meet Saara. We met at Darling Harbour and went for some drinks for happy hour which is only 5dollars a drink - I do not remember it being this cheap when I lived here. Had a good catch up, so great that we can meet up on the other side of the world. Then one of my other friends, called Raonaid, from Glasgow came and joined us when she finished work. The two girls didn't know each other but the three of us ended up having such a fun time. We stayed down at Darling Harbour until happy hour finished at 6pm. We then got the train up to Kings Cross. When I was in Sydney I lived in a hostel in the Cross the whole 5 months I was there and was amazing. Unfortunately the hostel has now closed down which is such a shame. So I always get a bit emotional when I come back to here. We went to The Sugarmill and sat on the roof terrace bar for couple drinks. Saara then left for the night as she had work in the morning. Me and Raonaid stayed out for a little bit longer. We went to The World Bar which is where I used to always go on Tuesday night. Wasn't the same as it used to be, or maybe I'm not the same.... so we only stayed for one drink. Our last drink was at the Kings Cross Hotel which also had a rooftop bar for us to sit up at and was right next to the big Coca Cola signs which were always a guide for getting home at night to the Cross. We walked back down towards the city then said our goodbyes. Was great night getting to see the girls. Forced myself up at 7.30 the next morning and walked to Circular Quay to get the ferry to Manly Beach. So ashamed to say that I have never been to Manly. I had to go and see it incase I never get back to Sydney. Was really foggy on the ferry journey over and could not see a thing which was rubbish but once it got closer to Manly it all cleared and the weather was amazing. Had a walk to the beach and sat here for couple hours. Really was so lovely, and glad I came. Didn't want to leave. On way back to the ferry I spotted a little Vietnamese restaurant so stopped here for lunch - dumplings and rice paper rolls with prawn, mmmmmm! Ferry journey back was much better scenery and got to see the Opera House, Harbour Bridge, North Sydney..... Aw miss it here so much. It is just such an amazing city that has everything. I really do feel so grateful for the opportunity to come back for a visit here. Just wish had a bit more time, Quick dash back to the hotel, stopping off at a cafe for some toasted banana bread on route then got ready for leaving for Singapore again. So hope that I will be back here soon! G'day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.198s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb