Bumming around AUS May 2012


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
May 6th 2013
Published: May 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Film showFilm showFilm show

On the Opera house roofs, amazing.. crap photo though
Theres not a lot to do around Sydney after a couple of days of doing the culture stuff except drink , so drink I did ! And what a better place in the world to drink than Aus !

It doesnt matter where you go and what type of pub it is you can just sit down and talk to anyone , well this is true in most countries around the world but Aus,NZ and USA it is just so easy and after living in Germany for so long where it is almost seen as bad manners to talk to a stranger in a pub this was a novelty for me .

The guest house where I was staying was full of short term workers from all aorund the world , from Brazil to Russia and everyone had their story to tell , it was most interessting and since it had a communial kitchen , this was the focal point of the guesthouse to sit down and chat with all these people . There are a couple of people that I will never forgetm mst interessting.

The city of Sydney is amazing , it is so modern and
City lightsCity lightsCity lights

Sydney, amazing place
full of life , something for everyone. Iwas lucky in the time I was there the Opera house and building adjacent wer having motion pictures screened onto them fromn a projector from across the harbour , this was an amzing feat of technology and pioneeerd by non less then the Germans , it ws amazing to watch as the " sails " of the opera house appeared to open and a lady crawled out and slid across the entire roof , how the hell they did that I wil never know.

I went into Sydney most days I got a week ticket for 20 $ which gave me unlimited trips on the ferry , all buses and the subway, amazing since it would cost normally 5$ for a one way ticket on the ferry , and the ferry trip was always fun , the swell of the seas crossing into the harbour were immence and most days I thought the little ferry was going to tip over, only once did they cancell crossings as it really was to dodgy .I used to get on the subway and just get off at random stops and find the nearest pub ,
Same sameSame sameSame same

but different
on one occasion I found a pub and stayed there all day and night talking to an Swiss girl who had piercings from top to toe including between her legs ( as she proudly told me after 5 hours of drinking ) and this pub was so good I went there everyday after that and even dint have to ak for a beer it just got put on the bar when I walked in which was a nice touch .And this happend after I returned several weeks later after travelling around a bit ! The problem being the last ferry back is midnight so on one occasion I was buggered and had to get a hotel in Sydney which turend it into en expensive night out , but the next day the hotel staff told me I could have got a cab for half the price or the bus for next to nothing but takes about 2 hours !

I still did nt feel right being here , it was still a big culture shock and I was like a little lost kid somedays, feeling shy sometimes it was such an awesome city, unbelivable and so so busy
Looks hot Looks hot Looks hot

but Manly beach in May is freezing

Soon I wanted to move on , I have a cousin and old school mate in Australia not too far away and decided to arrange a vist .

First host was to be my good old mate from the Isle of WIght Ian Hiscock , we knocked around together as kids in the time when you start going out drinking and pulling . Ian was born in Aus and his parents moved to the UK when he was a toddler, he moved back when he was 21 or 22 and I had nt seen him since, I was looking forward to seeing him.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Life guardsLife guards
Life guards

No one to save here
Chinese film Chinese film
Chinese film

Watched these guys filming a love scene for a film, apparantly they are famous in China


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb