Goodbye Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 29th 2013
Published: February 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After breakfast I took my suitcase down to reception to be stored until later, and checked out. Unsurprisingly my wet clothes were still soaked, so they were in a separate carrier bag, and even after stuffing my shoes with newspaper last night they still weren’t dry so I had to don on the flip flops. Luckily today it was only light rain, but I had to be careful not to slip on the wet and rather slippy streets of Sydney!

I spent the morning absorbing the Sydney vibe, which had now changed to a working city rather than one of hosting the festivities over the weekend, it was still a lovely atmosphere and a lot calmer and more relaxed than London. I dipped in and out of some of the free museums including the Mint, the modern art museum and others to avoid the rain. I found an amazing shop called lulumon athletica which had THE most amazing array of gym kit and running clothes I had ever seen, you certainly wouldn’t see many people wearing it, and after trying a few bits on I decided I couldn’t justify the money as I wouldn’t be needing it whilst over here!

Headed back to the hostel and jumped in my transfer to the airport at 4.15pm. Once checked in, and the leftover of yesterday’s pasta eaten for dinner I boarded the plane and waved goodbye to Sydney – slightly relieved there were no delays this time round! After circling a few times before landing as Brisbane only had one run way (be warned you will be subject to delays if you are landing here!) I soon collected my bag and headed for the airport express train into the city. Luckily the clear up after the storm was almost complete and the flood water subsided so trains were running as normal for 90% of the lines. Once in the city I changed for the line out to Rowena’s, and after an hour and half on the train I was walking the final leg back to the house. It was so nice to be back and have my own, clean space! I unpacked, jumped into the shower at it was soon 11pm and I collapsed into bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb