Crikey!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
May 16th 2006
Published: May 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Trying to play the didgeridooTrying to play the didgeridooTrying to play the didgeridoo

Yes, you know what a didgeridoo is. It's that weird Australian instrument that makes that funny sound.
Ahh, Australia, the land down under. Here are some fun facts: The toilets flush clockwise, just like the US. Nobody, and I mean nobody, drinks Foster's beer. And I haven't seen a single person throw a shrimp on a barbie. Or wrestle with a crocodile. Or get eaten by a shark.

Needless to say, I was quite disillusioned. I'm starting to think you can't believe everything you see on TV. We did, however, see the 2nd most poisonous spider in the world. I double-dared Alan to touch it but he wouldn't. We've seen lots of people playing didgerdoos. Got to see some kangaroos and koalas. We've seen tons of surfers and even more people who just dress like surfers. Eastern Australia is basically about beaches, surfers, parties, and trucker hats. It seems like when most backpackers get to Oz, they go straight to the Billabong store and buy a whole new wardrobe. It's weird. How do these girls fit Ugg boots in their backpacks anyway? But everyone is here to have fun. It's pretty much unavoidable.

We flew to Melbourne from New Zealand and I spent a week there with Alan while Bryan went off to meet up with
Hungry JackHungry JackHungry Jack

The name Burger King is already taken so in Australia they call it Hungry Jack. But the Whoppers are equally delicious.
some of his friends from home that were visiting. Melbourne is a nice city, almost too nice. As hard as we tried, we couldn't find the seedy areas with all the dive bars. That's when we started to notice how everyone is very fashion conscious here. I was expecting to hear someone challenged to a walk-off at any minute. We had a great time though. Met some other travellers, met some locals, went out, saw museums, good times. I also tried to find a job which just wasn't happening because I have no work visa. So I decided I needed to leave Australia a little earlier than planned. I gave myself a month to see what I could.

From Melbourne, Alan went to meet Bryan at Fraser Island and do some death-defying 4 wheel driving. I decided to skip it and go to Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef. So I spent a few days up there and finally got some warm weather. The reef was amazing. Not as colorful as Fiji but I was surrounded by a lot more fish, some were massive. I also totally randomly ran into my friend Sam who I met in Christchurch, so
Downtown MelbourneDowntown MelbourneDowntown Melbourne

Looking up Swanston St.
that was really cool. And my hostel was awesome, very social and cool people even though some of them were disasters. Nightlife in Cairns is more or less like spring break. It's kind of a tropical vacation vibe.

I flew to Brisbane after Cairns and met up with Alan again. We spent a day there, and the next day went down to Byron Bay for a couple nights. Brisbane is just another city, classic Aussie style, beautiful gardens and palm trees and of course, lots of surf shops. Byron Bay is a surfing mecca and the beach is amazing. We stayed at a great hostel called the Arts Factory which was really chilled out, had a pool and hot tub so that was sweet. After that we went down to Nimbin and camped for a couple days. Basically, Nimbin = hippies.

After heading back to Brisbane for another night, I ended up in Sydney about a week ago. It's big. You could never really see all of it, there is a lot to do here. And stuff is open late. Not just one bar and one convenience store, but lots of things. And there are beaches. Being here
Wandering aroundWandering aroundWandering around

Walking towards the modern art museum.
in Australia during winter definitely has made a difference though. Not that it's really that cold, but I can tell that it must be very different when summer is in full swing here.

So I've been on the move for awhile and it feels good to be back in travel mode. After spending almost 4 months in New Zealand, I'm happy to be covering some ground and tomorrow I head off to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Alan is meeting me there the day after and Bryan will catch up with us probably within the next couple weeks. I really have no idea what to expect, I've never been to Asia before and I'm sure all kinds of weird shit will happen as soon as I set foot off the plane.


Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Exhibit at the modern art museumExhibit at the modern art museum
Exhibit at the modern art museum

Two screens showing a dude in a diamond suit dancing around to no music.
What a nice little side streetWhat a nice little side street
What a nice little side street

And filled with cafes that I can't pay for.
Collins St.Collins St.
Collins St.

Another downtown street in Melbourne.
Riding the tramRiding the tram
Riding the tram

Payment on the trams is based on the honor system. It's a very benevolent government. If you get caught with no ticket, you get a 3 minute time-out.
Chilly day at St. KildaChilly day at St. Kilda
Chilly day at St. Kilda

Beaches are better when it's warm outside and perhaps has a bikini or two.
The EspyThe Espy
The Espy

Well known bar and live music venue in St Kilda.
The Lagoon in CairnsThe Lagoon in Cairns
The Lagoon in Cairns

There's not a proper beach in Cairns so they built a cool Lagoon by the water.
Snorkelling the Great Barrier ReefSnorkelling the Great Barrier Reef
Snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef

These other people are mostly advanced scuba divers and I felt really uncool in my snorkel mask.
HardcoreHardcore
Hardcore

Ready to see some fish.
LunchtimeLunchtime
Lunchtime

Nice spread on the boat.
UnderwaterUnderwater
Underwater

You'd think the guy would have tried to get the reef in the background or something.
Sea cucumberSea cucumber
Sea cucumber

Oh, my pretty little pet.
Bar crawl in CairnsBar crawl in Cairns
Bar crawl in Cairns

Sam & Emma inside the double decker, open roof bus that took us between stops.
Johno's Blues BarJohno's Blues Bar
Johno's Blues Bar

Home of the toothless but talented Johno's blues band.
Not really an appropriate ad for kids to seeNot really an appropriate ad for kids to see
Not really an appropriate ad for kids to see

Mommy mommy can we have some Nobby's salted beer nuts??
ZanzibarZanzibar
Zanzibar

Bar and Grill at my hostel in Cairns. Awesome cheap food but the chef was this really weird dude who makes everyone call him Mom. No joke.
Disaster!Disaster!
Disaster!

That guy's shirt is so ridiculous I don't even know what to say.


16th May 2006

are you ever coming back brian????
16th May 2006

Wusup
Great pics brah. By the way, those sea cucumbers are pretty tasty - i had it when i was in San Fran. You should eat one next time...
16th May 2006

Hey...there should be a monorail in longmont, co...then we could sing songs about monorails...well either a monorail or a walk-off....hey, whatever happened to your phat van...is it goin to malaysia with your ass?...as always, wish I was there....gettin married in three weeks...court says, 'wizzzup up, brah...!@"
16th May 2006

Toilets
US toilets flush counter-clockwise in the northern hemisphere. Maybe you used the toilet in the US Embassy where they have that machine that makes it flush the opposite way so the people don't get homesick.
17th May 2006

awesome
That is so awesome!! I am so envious!! Enjoy it, and know that we are stuck here in NY doing the same shit while your on the other side.... Take care of you
17th May 2006

Hey there, again there was a wait for this blog. I love the pictures. I figured it out, you guys are the new Wild Boys, someone should be there taping all this. Miss you!
18th May 2006

Biz, i think you've been watching too much Simpsons.
19th May 2006

Ba ha ha ha ha
I am still getting a kick out of hungry jack's!!!! and you on that bike is hysterical... lot's of luck in malaysia....... boyacka sha!
19th May 2006

simpsons and toilets
so it's NOT true ?????
23rd May 2006

We finally watched your travelling videos. I have to say that although I remember very little (it was deemed a special event, thus memory was not a priority), it seems like you guys figured out that work sucks about 8 months before I did. Anyhoo, keep truckin until there are no resources left--i got a couch that you can sleep on when you gets home
23rd May 2006

Rock Star
Dude, You rock! You're too cool for school. Wish I could join you.
26th May 2006

Hopkinson
Is that you Fubar?
2nd June 2006

Koala
I want to be a koala bear--all eating leaves and sleeping. Yumm. Even better than being a traveling dude.

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 15; qc: 81; dbt: 0.1083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb