Fotos of wot I ave seen when I woz hanging on da streetz of Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
November 15th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Aimlessly wandering the streets of Sydney on my days off has given me another glimpse into the Australian psyche based on their choices for city artwork and adornments. The colonial past is evident in the drab, grey regal statues of Queen Victoria and Albert in Hyde Park. But look a little closer and you realise those pesky Aussies have added their own mark to Queen Vic and her hubby. Whether it was a council approved art installation or a bunch of students tanked up on VB stubbies I'm not sure, but the art of clothing statues seems to have taken over Sydney. Dressed in their colourful rags the great, the glorious and the not so salubrious founders and monarchs of this great nation now cheer up intersections and the shadowy canyons between tower blocks. The wildlife isn't safe from this treatment either, 'Il Porcellino', the little pig of Sydney Hospital has miraculously grown wings, perhaps in an attempt to escape the hoards of patients and tourists rubbing his nose for good luck.

When they're not busy dressing up their statues like barbie dolls, the yoof of Sydney are doing an excellent job of brightening the walls of alleyways and shops across the inner city. And not just with messy mindless scrawls and tags. Oh no, the yoof of Sydney are educated, they can quote famous lines they've heard on the telly, possibly even read in books, and they even know the names of countries in Africa! Some of the grafitti advertises the adjacent business, others depict famous city landmarks. Almost all of the street art I've seen so far is a nice colourful addition to the vintage shops and cafes lining the pavements, none of it seems threatening or a symbol of deprivation as it so often does in other places. The photos in this blog are just some of the examples of street art I've come across on my exploration of my new surroundings, I've seen loads more great examples but usually from the bus when I'm late for work so will have to continue to expand my photo walks and add to this blog in the future.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Spitting turtlesSpitting turtles
Spitting turtles

fountain in Hyde Park
Clockwork DogClockwork Dog
Clockwork Dog

outside Newtown Community Centre
I love eating!I love eating!
I love eating!

No I haven't turned to graffitti myself, I must just have a tagging soul mate out there!
Cono SurCono Sur
Cono Sur

Bikes and booze what a great combo


Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 21; qc: 101; dbt: 0.1435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb