G'day mate, welcome to Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
March 9th 2005
Published: March 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Sydney Opera HouseSydney Opera HouseSydney Opera House

In all it's glory, Sydney harbour bridge behind.
Well a strange thing happened to me today, I was buying bread from a man from Brussels, I'm not joking he was was at least six foot four and full of muscles, I couldn't think of anything to say so I muttered, "Do you speak-a my language?" And he just smiled, and gave me a vegemite sandwich, then he said....

"I come from a land down under, Where beer does flow and men chunder, Can't you hear, can't you hear the thunder?
You better run, you better take cover."

Anyway, enough from Men At Work, we landed in Sydney on Tuesday night and have had an AMAZING couple of days, this place is awesome I tell thee, we've seen all the must-do sights over the last couple of days and are taking a ferry over to Manly tomorrow so visit the North Shore of Sydney.

We're staying in Kings Cross which is a real seedy part of town but the hostel is nice, spiders and cockroaches apart, and we've walked everywhere from here with no hassle.

We both think Sydney is very like San Francisco but we agree that this place just tops California, and that's not easy as San Francisco had been our favourite place on our trip until Monday!!

We've still got so much to do and haven't been near a beach yet, well after 2 weeks of it in Fiji we've OD'd, I've got loads of photo's to add so I'll hopefully get them on soon and add more detail of what we've seen and done, or maybe the photo's will be self explanatory, we'll see.

Something bizarre did happen last night though, we had been wandering about town all day sighseeing in the sun and were looking for a place to chill and get a drink, we were walking along this street when I heard someone shout my name, I turned around and there was a boy, Andy, that I used to play football with for Standard Life, couldn't believe it, the world maybe is a small place after all.

Will add more soon and hopefully loads of photo's from the last month.

Peace.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Andrew and the lionAndrew and the lion
Andrew and the lion

in the Botanic Gardens
A view over the harbourA view over the harbour
A view over the harbour

from the Royal Botanic Gardens
Downtown SydneyDowntown Sydney
Downtown Sydney

from the Opera House


Tot: 0.526s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 17; qc: 89; dbt: 0.249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb