first day in the land of Oz


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
March 11th 2010
Published: March 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

so .....Iarrived and booked into the greatest youth hostel, its in an area called The Rocks in central Sydney, there's a roof top terrace that overlooks the bay. The Opera house and bridge are literally 5 mins walk away !!!!
I'm sure that mum and Marilyn will be pleased to hear that I've made lots of friends already, I went for a walk around with Sarah who is my roomie, we're in a 4 bedded dorm, (bottom bunk for me).

The harbour is truly spectacular, amazing views with a lovely chilled our feel about it. There are street musicians and didgeridoo players everywhere. The Opera house is really beautiful, I can't really believe I'm here yet, partly due to massive amount of jet lag, 3 days without zzzzzzzz so far, so I'm hoping to get some sleep tonight. This evening I met up with a friends cousin called Paul who was kind enough to take me for a lovely stroll around the harbour and then took me for a gorgious chinese meal - sitting alfresco, with a warm breeze, looking at the Sydney Bridge all lit upto one side and the Opera House on the other side .... I really am living the dream !!!!!

So tomorrow I'm going to go walking around and see more of this lovely city, and in the evening there is a group of us going to see an opera in the Sydney Opera house !!!!!! how cultured am I !!!!!

I'm off to bed now and I'll try and upload pics tomorrow.

love Sheila Karen xxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



11th March 2010

Hi there
Hi Karen Managed to lose your Blog address; Googled Karen the adventurer and it the wonderful thing took me straight there... unbelievable what this modern technology can do. You still sound very excited. Glad you met up with Paul and had a pleasant evening , I had a text to say that you had a wonderful sense if humour ( as if I didnt know!!) Sydney is a great city isnt it. Make sure you do the mono rail thing it is great fun. We went round twice . Any way my dear keep in touch, wheres your next stop? thinking of you Abby

Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0848s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb