New Years


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 3rd 2004
Published: January 3rd 2004
Edit Blog Post

New Years Eve 2003New Years Eve 2003New Years Eve 2003

An accurate representation of what I personally saw...
The past few weeks in Sydney have been a mixture of great times and times of sheer frustration at staying in the same place for so long - previously my usual stay in any one place was 3 nights before moving on - making 3 weeks seem like a lifetime! It was a brilliant few weeks though, making some friends that I will kep in touch with for life and meeting my college friend Simon for Christmas and New Year. (Sadly the plan failed, as the lure of a real meal rather than a kebab for Christmas lunch caused me to abandon him, and the demon drink caused him to disappear on New Years an hour before the fireworks. The words "I'm going for a walk" were heard from him, and he was some time. Two days before we knew if he was alive. Still it was the thought that counts.)
Despite the premature departure of Simon, New Years Eve was a really great ending to my time in Sydney, a picnic in the Botanical Gardens at Mrs. Macquaries Point, in order to claim our 'spot' for the fireworks display. It was a slightly overcast, humid day, but still had a
Annonymous Cruise Ship at Circular QuayAnnonymous Cruise Ship at Circular QuayAnnonymous Cruise Ship at Circular Quay

I thought I had a name for it but I think I actually just made it up. Adds an air of mystery to the photo though.
great atmospherein the park, whihc steadily grew in population as the day wore on, until it was absolutely packed by the evening. With wine and cheap champagne we watched the fireworks display and saw in the New Year, 2004. It was an amazing night, that carried on into the early hours of the next day. The hostel on New Years Day was the quietest it had been in my entire time there. There was absolutely no one around - hangovers and sleep deprivation all round!

Advertisement



7th August 2006

Queen Mary?
She has yet to make her first world cruise. The ship in the picture is one of Princess Cruise Line's ships. I won't venture a guess as to which one as there are several that look like it. Having said all that, it is a nice photograph none the less.
9th August 2006

Re: Queen Mary
Thanks for letting me know. Spent a wasted hour on google with an irrational compulsion to "find out". I think I'll just call it annonymous cruise ship...

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb