Nimbin, Surfing, Petes house and Sydney!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
May 21st 2007
Published: May 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone,

The next day after getting to Byron, me and matt and lots of other people got on a crazy old hippy bus to go to a place called Nimbin. This is the drug and hippy capital of oz! Its the only place in oz that police turn a blind eye to all the old stoned hippys growing, selling and doing lots of drugs! You have to go there and have a look round if your near Byron as its so surreal. All the buildings are mulicoulded and there is art everwhere. They have a museam which is like a giant walk though art exhibithion where people have made the walls into caves and crazy stuff everywhere. The next stop on our broken down bus with our crazy old driver playing perfectly timed music to what he was talking about, was to visit an old hippy freind of his. This guy was stark raving mad but very cool. He had bought a bit of forest years ago and planted every seed he could buy and then added bits of junk and stuff and said it was art work. He had a lake that you could sit on giant tyre rings and eat watermelon. He lived in an old shack and had lodes of macadaina trees and we just ate all the nuts which are the most juciest nuts Ive ever had. The bus ride back was crasy, wizzing down a rollercoster style road on the edge of a mountine playing pink floyed on the loudest voloume. We finally got back to the hostle but it had been an awesome day. we made a joint meal (well I sneaked off to watch neighbours and by thetime that was finished the boys had cooked and layed my place. Awesome!

The next day I got up early and left Matt asleep and went on my treak to the bus stop. Next stop, surf camp 😊 We arrived at about 2 ish, the sun nice and hot. We had the whole camp to ourselfs which was awesome. We had our surf lesson (photos on myspace) and then hit the waves. After a few attempts I was standing up! Its really good fun. Oh and I saw a manta ray in the water (or a sting ray we didnt know which!). I got bored of my surf bored and but it on the beach and went to attempt tandem surfing with my freind. This is much harded and consisted of lots of legs and arms flaling and falling on my bum a lot! It was hillarious though and we spent most of the time in hysterics. I was the last one out of the water. We had a good bbq supper YUM and spent the everning playing cards. I made a shandaliea out of ALL the knives forks and spoons at the camp and I hung it from the celing. Ive been told its still there (my wonderful artwork sculpture). We were up at 6.30 for breakfast (groan) and on the bus by 8. Everyone was going on a long haul to sydney. I on the other hand was finally going to get a good home cooked meal and a dead comfy bed 😊 I got off after an hour at Coffs harbour and met one of my mums freinds from Africa, Pete Shephard 😊 He picked me up at the transit center and we spent the day looking at all the sights - up at a view point where We could see for miles and miles out to the sea and the treees and stuff. We also went to a place where two rivers met and met the sea at the same point. And I saw Millions and millions of crabs. They were crazy crabs, bright blue or with mutated arms that were really big! We then went to the farm which is where they live. They live in a massive bungalow which is really long. They have lovely neighbours and in the evernings they all go off to play darts in the adults shed! Their dog Bali, has just had puppies, lovely choclate labrodors. I dont really like dogs but these are exeptially sweet. They are so crazy and lick your toes and play with socks! They also have lodes of fields of land and lots of horses. Its so cool.
Anyway we went and picked up the girls (Hannah and Jess) from basket ball practice. And I got to watch neighbours 😊 yay.

The next day I got to lay in as long as I wanted (12ish) which was blissful. Though it was a bit creepy being in a massive house on your own with noises that your not used to so I made Bali dog cheak all the rooms and Charlie dog cheak the outside haha. I went for a walk and went and talked to the cows, one was so unbothered it didnt even walk away! Then it started to rain (all my nice clean washing got wet again). The girls missed their last lesson of school and we went in Jennis (the mum) car back to Coffs Harbour where we wandered in the shops and ate very rich choclate slab things. That everning I went and watched the girls basket ball match ( this country is sports mad) where they won 33-11 woo go them!
The next day was saturday. Jess had a horse thing on, so me and pete went and watched Hannahs soccer match. I dont mind watching football here as it is nice and hot and you can just sit down sun bathe :P We then went wandering around the local market which comes once a month. Hannah got some beeswax stuff which is liquid honey which turnes into wax in your mouth when you chue it. I didnt know what to make of that. We ate so very yummy stuff which was like miniture pancakes the size of a stamp. you got about 20 of them and covered them in maple syrup and sugar yum. And I bourght some muli couloured gloves. After that we raced home as some people were coming to look at the puppies. Me and hannah watched a film called Holes which was good. Then we got to play on the horses for a bit. This was the high light of my day. It was so much fun, having a massive field to speed though. I actually got my horse Oscar to gallop which is so awesome. It feels like your flying though the air. We made some jumps but I wasnt too good at them. I really would like a horse now please! haha. My legs still ake a bit from riding though. The food here is exerclent. The first night we had lots of differnt currys yum and then the second night we had some nice spinige thing. I watched crocadile dundee two and filled out the application form for my uni accom :S I got fed yummy passion fruites by there freind. They are so yummy but look like frog spawn. mmm nice.
The next day I had to be up early. Me and hannah got a quick go on their horse swing (which is crazy) before I had to go. I didnt want to leave, they are a lovely family and its so nice having proper meals and horses to play with. oh yes and I had made freinds with there cat called Bill.

I got on my bus at 9am 😞 and said my goodbyes (I will be back dont worry 😊 ) and started my trip down to Sydney. We stopped for lunch. It has to be the worst sandwidge ive ever had and the worst uncooked chips ever. yuck. Luckly I had an old apple lurking in the bottom of my bag. I got to sydney at about 5pm. I am staying in a hostle called mase. It is like one too. The girls in my room are swedish and lovly. I got up graded for free from an 8 room dorn to a 4 bed dorm. Awesome and I still dont know why! Me and the swedish girls (Karan and Maria), who turned out to be twins, even though they look so unlike each other, met up with a french boy and went to watch a film. If its on in England, go and see it its very good. Its called Paris somthing (I cant remeber the last bit) but Its very funny and a good film. After that we wandered around sydeny. OH My gosh I just almost deleted all of this writeing, phew I managed to save it. *shakes* haha woops. Anyway We went to a club with a good guitarist and we spent the whole night dancing.

The next day I got up early and went and bought milk and bananans. There organic milk is the same price as there non organic milk over here, how strange! In fact it was cheeper! After my breakfast, I decided to see Sydney in a day.
First I Saw the sydney harbour bridge which is stunning day or night. I then took a crazy boat cruise around the harbour, and then went to the botanical gardens and took a tour for the sydnyey oprar house. I have to rush I will tell more soon, but the shop has shut byee

Advertisement



Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb