Grey Skies


Advertisement
Published: May 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Good Afternoon, or evening/ night for those in Merry England.

So an eventful week this week, but not alot of touristy stuff took place as to be frank the weather has been awful. Mr Maullin's parting comment to me was ' remember your hat and sun cream as you will burn' Well to be frank I have considered buying a coat.

On wednesday I went for my interview at the city council and managed to get some work for the next 3 months with the possibility of extending it to the maximum my visa allows of 6 months. They employ around twenty eho's so the prospect of movement and possible sponsorship is on the cards if I want to take it. The pay is more than double my wage in the UK, but the cost of living matches the increase. The two ladies interviewing were 'pommies' and had migrated to australia when the labour shortage required them.

I went out last night to a nightclub in darling harbour- very swish with all the guys and girls looking like they had just come off the set of made in chelsea.

Twice this week I have ended up in a bar called ' 3 Wise Monkeys' in Surry Hills and both times they had a great band on which took requests for classic rock ( My old man would be in his element with the range of music) . I kid you not I bumped into a guy from willenhall theren who lived on Noose Lane. Its certainly small world Isn't it.

On Thursday with a large group from the hostel I went to an auction of stuff which had been left on the trains and buses of Sydney. I was hoping to pick up a cheap I-pad or tablet/ kindle but the first item, an I-pad 2 went for $600 . Six Hundered Bucks! I could get a brand new one for less. I did put in a bid for a very slender looking laptop- only to be outbit within a second. I did get quite a rush of adrenaline for my mere second of attention. That laptop ended up going for $1200. It seems my 110 didn't go too noticed.

On my list of stuff to this week has been to get myself a flat/ houseshare. I have an appointment tomorrow to look at a house in redfern which is a 20 minuite walk to work and city.It seems the most popular thing to do here if you working a short while is room sharing where you might share a bedroom with another person or 3 which to me does not sound appealing. At home this would be classed as overcrowding and would be illegal. Hey ho.



As I intend to stay around for a while, i suspect these blogs may get a bit dull, but when i do some cool stuff, i'll let you know. Perhaps next sunday I'll do one.

JJ

Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0873s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb