Adventures in Aussie...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Coogee
February 20th 2007
Published: March 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My route so far...


The harbour bridgeThe harbour bridgeThe harbour bridge

Couldn't have missed off a photo of this amazing sight! A view I hope to be seeing a lot more of once I move to Manly...
Hi everyone, I must apologise for being soooo rubbish at updating my blog..Of course it was inevitable that I would fail to be super organised, because why would that happen to me when I'm travelling of al the places!!

Anyway, I have a lot to tell and think that I may as well just tell you a bit and show you some snaps I've taken of the land Down Under!

Sooo, I can hardly believe that I've been in Sydney now for three months! How time flies when you're having fun! On arrival here I stayed with Kim and her family who kindly put me up for a week in their house in the run up to and over Christmas. So I got to experience a proper Ozzie Christmas. That was amazing, and Kim has a huge extended family, consisting of lots of Italians who are amazing cooks, so needless to say lost of yummy food was consumed... (no change there for me then!!) And not to mention all the booze to wash it all down!

After Christmas I moved to a house in Coogee, or rather a small mansion. Probably the nicest house one can live in in Coogee withour being a permanent resident.... but don't get your hopes up... there were 10 of us living there and we shared it with the whole entire population of cockroaches that reside in Coogee too. Not ideal to say the least! Ho hum, lots of fun was had, particularly because we were within a stone's throw of the main pub, the Coogee Bay Hotel where most people like to hang out, and about the same distance from the beach. What more could you want!!!

Obviously with money being slightly on the scarce side, I decided I had to get a job. So the first thing that came up was waitressing in the Palace Hotel. (NB The name doesn't reflect the place!) Basically I was a waitress in the restaurant part of this huge bar, which was my idea of a nightmare due to it being mainly frequented by pikies!! Ooops hope no-one reading this is a regular there! ;O) I soon discovered that waitressing isn't quite my thing and so quit after 2 weeks.. And good job I did too, because I got a temporary job working as assistant buyer for David Jones, a pretty smart department store in Sydney! I worked there for 4 weeks learning all about buying clothes.. as if I need any help with that! Unfortunately, finished there on Friday because they found a permanent person to do the job. So now I'm a receptionist instead YIPPPEEEE!! Anyway, Mum, Dad, Andy, Simon and Sarah all come out next week so it's not for long anyway... Can't wait!!



Advertisement



19th March 2007

Blimey mate!
Sounds like you are having a totally fantastic time. Hope you bbq'd some of those cockroaches. So do they all drink Castlemain and Fosters down under? The weather here after luring us into spring mode has taken a turn for the worse and poured sleet and snow on us yesterday. Today is just bitterly cold and dull! Fab that your family are coming out, take care Nic and continue to make us all green eyed with your updates. Loads a luv. Janey. xx

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb