Cockroaches!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Coogee Beach
May 11th 2014
Published: May 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

G'day!

Busy busy week this week with a full week of work and searching for accomodation.
My first flat viewing was an apartment in Redfern which is supposed to be quite a nice area. This flat however was in a dindgy unlit street which resembled more of service road as opposed to anything else. The front door to the foyer was cracked and there was a homeless guy sleeping in basement. Such a great first impression.

Second was a flat in Glebe which was a pretty nice place, only there was 8 other people in bedrooms. My bedroom was nice, but I decided that wasn't for me.

Luckily Dee an Irish EHO from work recalled that one of her friends had put something on facebook requiring an extra room-mate. She gave me his number and later on that day I went round to visit to have a look. The flat is an area of Sydney called Coogee ( but its pronounced like the bird- budgey) which has a really nice beach. Its about half an hour away from work and I was very impressed with the flat so I gave Mike ( One of two british lads) money for the deposit. I will upload some photos when i have the opportunity.

I had to get the bus to Coogee and I ended up getting the correct bus but on wrong side of the road, and I ended up on the wrong side of the city a good 45 mins away from my destination. Woops!

Last night was quite Random, I ended up going to an Australian Girls 21st birthday Party in a Polish Working Mens Club in ashfield. The birthday girl and her friends were very well to do and the bar was free! Mine and Toms favourite Beer Tyskie was on offer as was Tzsveic. The free bar was seen as a challenge to see how much value for money I could get before we went to a backbackers nightclub called 'scary canaries'.

Work wise this week has been pretty interesting, shadowing my colleagues inspecting food premises in the infamous Kings Cross, an demographically messed up area of Sydney where the homeless drug addicts brush shoulders with the rich and wealthy. The three cafes and take-aways I visited had cockroaches in them in various stages of infestations, but this is inevitable given Australias warm climate

Next week I intend to use one of the pool cars to go out and about to a few jobs- I'm looking forward to driving the array of cars available to me. Most of them are Toyota Hybrid Prius's and Nissan LEAFS.



Watch out Sydney!



JJ

Advertisement



11th May 2014

Oooooh Er
Cockroaches Eugh!, glad u found yr feet, dad and I did that with he buses once, a long time ago.......

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb