Beef pho and spring rolls


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Cabramatta
April 14th 2013
Published: April 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

One of my first overseas trips was to Vietnam, in December 1996. Like much of my travel, it was a somewhat random decision and I hadn't done much in the way of research beforehand. So I was open to lots of advice. As it turns out, all the advice I received was from people who had never been there, but all assured me confidently that I was bound to get ill, it's too hot, and I would most certainly lose lots of weight. I could almost guarantee coming back slimmer and trimmer.

As it turns out this was absolute nonsense. The food was sensational, like nothing I'd had before. Bursting with flavour, it was fresh, delicious, not to mention more-ish, and not wanting to miss out on the incredible array of new culinary delights I tucked in with gusto, waiting for the wait-loss to kick in. Needless to say I returned home after four weeks several kilograms heavier.

Of course that was around fifteen years ago and although I haven't been back, I've searched high and low for those delicious flavours ever since. So you can imagine how excited I was to discover that Cabramatta, as home to many Vietnamese residents, has established itself as Sydney's "Little Vietnam". And that comes with Vietnamese FOOD, and plenty of it!

Following my successful foray into Auburn last year on a Gourmet Food Safari walking tour, I signed up for a foodie tour of Cabramatta with a friend from work. For me, it was back to Vietnam!

As soon as I got off the train, it was indeed like being in another country. For starters there was the crowd! I fought my way through the sea of people and found the spot where I met up with my fellow foodies. Seems like there are a lot of us pining for the food from our travels, so we were split into two separate groups. However first up we started as one group in our first restaurant of the day (yes there were two) where we met our guides for the day. All Cabramatta locals, Vietnamese of course, they shared some of their stories and their love of food.

We started first of all with a lesson on herbs where we learned firstly what they all were, then how they were used. Now I will recognise them when I see them in the supermarket....maybe. Then, not surprisingly, we started eating. I soon realised it was a good thing I hadn't had breakfast. We kicked off with some Vietnamese pancakes, which we wrapped in the herbs - leaves of all different sizes - before dipping in the Nuoc Cham sauce. The years melted away and it was just like being back in Ho Chi Minh City! Heaven.

Then we set off on the walking tour of the neighbourhood. Okay, so there were no bicycles and I didn't see any elegant ladies wearing their Ao Dais, and maybe there weren't as many potholes, but really it was a lot like my memories of my trip all those years ago. Obviously that trip also involved a lot of food!

Cabramatta is a mecca for those hard to find Vietnamese ingredients. Or as I call them - "What the hell is that?" Sometimes I think it's better not to know too much about your raw material and just be happy in the eating.

The good thing after my day in Cabramatta is that now I have the choice to either simply park up at an authentic Vietnamese restaurant and eat to my heart's content, or if I am game enough to recreate these dishes myself, I know where they are and what they look like. Just like Vietnam, I can revert to sign language to ask for help!

My group's guide for the day was the gorgeous Michelle, and while a Vietnamese traditionalist may shudder, she gave us loads of little tips and tricks to recreate a traditional Vietnamese meal at home without putting in the same hours. For example, she told us that instead of slaving over a pot of pho for 12 hours or more, she makes her own in the morning before work by using a slow cooker and it's all ready when she gets home. Another hot tip was to buy the little pottles of lemongrass that had been finely cut up by some Vietnamese ladies and pop it in the freezer so you can choose a small amount without having to put in all the elbow grease yourself. They cost $2 and last for months in the freezer. Unless of course you're a super chef....which I'm sure not.

We finished our walking tour at yet another restaurant where we rolled our own fresh spring rolls, and finished with a really sensational rare beef pho. Yum. It was outstanding.

After all these years, at last I know how to get a delicious Vietnamese meal, or make something myself with authentic ingredients. And the best part? I don't have to spend 14 hours on an aeroplane....it's a mere minutes on the local train!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



18th April 2013
Black and hairy at the front, purple, green things at the back....I have no idea!

black and hairy!
you made me laugh! the purple things are banana flowers, and the black hairy things are yams (I think!), unless you meant the mop? ;)
18th April 2013
Black and hairy at the front, purple, green things at the back....I have no idea!

Yams!
Yes, they did tell me that the black things were yams, but the only yams I've ever seen are small, knobbly, orange things so I didn't believe them....guess I'll have to try them now! Banana flowers? Who would've known!!
18th April 2013

Ah~ This blog made me salivate. Thanks for sharing the tip about the slow-cooker -- that's a good idea! When I was taught (the long 12 hour or longer method) to cook Pho, some of the special ingredients were fish sauce, anise seed and oxtails. I'm curious if you ate in both South and North Vietnam? I've been told that they are quite different. Having only traveled to one half, I'm quite sad that I missed out on trying the dish in the other half. Enjoy the pho and spring rolls!
18th April 2013

Hi Michelle, to be honest it was so long ago I was in Vietnam I can't really remember the differences between the North and the South, plus I spent nearly all my time in the South except for about two days. However yes, I understand the pho is quite different. Yes, the slow cooker tip is fantastic - I'm never going to spend 12 hours making anything!
20th April 2013

No research is sometimes the best way to go
Flavor memories are the best! Always great getting cooking tips from the locals. Loved your stories.
20th April 2013

Yes, finding some great new flavours is always part of my favourite memories. The fun then begins trying to recreate it at home!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 17; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb