Farewell Sydney!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » CBD
September 6th 2013
Published: September 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

This is the 4th time I've written this pigging entry, phone mucking about..

Sydney had been fun. I've surprised myself with how quickly I've got to know the city. I've only looked at a map once and that was just to find out which road greyhound was on. Otherwise I've just bimbled about!

Got talking to one of the guys from my room last night, Mark. He said he didn't talk to me initially as he thought I was Italian and didn't speak any English!! Must be my Italian colouring.. He invited me out to the foam party at scary canary, but due to the foot being unable to get wet, let alone foamy, I politely declined. Also it was 11pm and I was still sulking in my pj's.. He asked me what had bought me to oz, I told him about Lizzie and Tom's wedding and that bid thought 'sod it' why not go! He laughed and said sod it is like the yolo of the West country. I died a little inside. Goodness knows what time he got in this morning.

I had to be up early to check out by 10. Base hostel wanted $11 to put my bag in a tiny locker for the day. Balls to that. I remembered that Travel Bugs had said I could leave my bag there free. It's a hike though. But being a tight arse I decided to trek over. Just need to remember to go back before they shut to collect it.. Had an awesome breakfast of raisin toast, coffee and an oj by the park. Was lovely. Then went and sat in the sun to read my book. Slapping on my 'Cancer Council' 30+ suncream. Kept getting attacked by birds. Dried my towel over the bench like a hobo.

Then wandered off for a bit. Watched some amazing street performers. A singer called Jack Man Friday, a guy playing a didgeridoo and a guy playing upturned buckets like drums. He was the best. His hands were a blur and there was a lot of drumstick spinning. Got accosted by a lady from Malta who insisted on telling me her entire life story. I attract the madness. Wandered off a bit more, kept playing 'dodge the charity people', I lost this game twice, but must have won about 20 times. Overall a good average.

Went to the harbour again for one last look at the Opera house etc. There was a MASSIVE cruise ship there.. I'm talking frickin huge. I was more impressed by that than anything else! Unfortunately it was a ship from America and so the place was crawling with yanks. I left quick sharp. Decided it was safer to hide out in the scary canary for happy hour. Plus I can steal the wifi from base at the same time. Still have 5 hours to kill before my bus... Argh.

Next stop Byron Bay! Only a 12 hour overnight coach trip to go first...

Love to all. Especially to the usual suspects.

Xxxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb