Sight seeing in Arakoon


Advertisement
Published: June 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day Eleven - Arakoon
I got up early (7am) and went for my first run since leaving New Zealand. It wasn’t as hard as I expected it would be so perhaps I haven’t lost my touch after all. Yes, that means it was fine - well at least until 2 mins after I returned when I bucketed down again. However by around 10.30 it was clear enough to go out for a drive so we wandered around the sights of South West Rocks, through the rainforest. The water lying on the ground was incredible. It’s granite country so I guess it doesn’t soak in that well. Really we were going out for coffee and cake (yes, they did get to the gluten free lesson and it was great). We then headed for the lighthouse for a good climb up the hill where I spent some time getting my bearings. As you would expect, the view was amazing from there although sadly the whales weren’t performing today. From there we walked to the end of the breakwater which takes about 30 mins so it was a good stretch. A few hardy fishermen dotted the rocks along the way. Apparently a certain kind of fish comes further out of the river towards the sea to feed when it’s rough and the predators come closer to shore as a result so you get good fishing.
As expected, the rain returned in time to catch us out so we headed for home again and lit the fire. This really is just what the doctor ordered! Great scenery, fantastic company and wonderful food. And I have internet access! What more could anyone want.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb