Thanksgiving in Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Griffith
November 25th 2011
Published: November 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Last week was Thanksgiving. I spent two days cooking and baking a proper American Thanksgiving from scratch. Because Australians do not celebrate Thanksgiving they are lacking all the nice short cut products like stove top stuffing and canned pumpkin. I ended up mashing potatoes and drying bread crumbs for stuffing. Boiling pumpkin for pumpkin pie. It was very labor intensive. I am really impressed with my Grandma that she cooks this much every year for my family.

I will always remember the first Thanksgiving I was in charge of being in Australia and cooking for 15 Europeans in a tiny little gas oven. I am the only American at the fruitshack now, and there are only two Canadians that have experienced Thanksgiving dinner before. It is interesting to really see your culture from another perspective. Especially the thing that you take for granted like holidays. Not everyone in the world celebrates the same holidays that we do. Halloween here is practically non existant. There is no dressing up and no trick-or-treating.

I imagine that Christmas will be drastically different. Christmas in the summer heat is just shocking to me. I am used to snow for Christmas. The local people
My Thanksgiving guestsMy Thanksgiving guestsMy Thanksgiving guests

They are a captive audience!
that I am friends with here say they want to experience snow, but the only time I ever want to see snow is on Christmas day. Otherwise snow is just an inconvience.

It is amazing how much the weather controls your life when you are traveling. Its is unpredicatable but it causes so many problems if it doesn't go right.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement




Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb