Still posing as a surfer down unda


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Coffs Harbour
June 19th 2006
Published: June 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

byron baybyron baybyron bay

the view south from the lighthouse
How are ya mates, been a couple weeks and I thought I'd let ya know what's going on. I've been getting busier in the clinic lately so time has just been flying these last couple weeks. Work is good, I'm just trying to take it all in which is overwhelming at times and other times it's really rewarding. This last weekend was a surf weekend, so I don't have any good pics, just stories. I surfed two beaches on saturday, in the morning I was at park beach which is just south of Macaulies where I usually surf with the Mackie's. It's basically straight down to the beach from where I'm staying. The waves were massive, I'm talking like nearly three times my height! Needless to say I was paddling for waves but I wasn't paddling that hard. Surfed Diggers beach that evening which is the beach north of Macaulies until it got dark(it was a good day). Sunday I was up at sunrise and was able to borrow a car from this guy I met at the pub, john the pom he likes to be called. Actually, John got me a free surfboard indirectly as he asked me to look
byron baybyron baybyron bay

the lighthouse
at a friend who was having hip trouble. This guy became one of my patient's and brought me a free board! Anyway, I went up to sandy beach which is an hour north up the highway and had my best day of surf yet catching some nice rights off the green face. That about sums up this last weekend. The weekend before last was a three day weekend because of the queen's birthday (gotta love the queen). So we hired a car and went up to brisbane me, mantee, his wife, and steph (classmates from home). In Brisbane we had yum cha where mantee and his wife did all the talking in chinese and we just sat and ate. We ate some chicken feet which was weird, especially after anatomy dissections this last year(mmm...bones). On sunday we went and browsed around Byron Bay's shops and visited the lighthouse up on the hill which is the eastern most point of australia. It was a beautiful day as you can see from the pics. That night I stayed in Lennox head which is the beach just south of byron, it's supposed to be one of the best point breaks in OZ serving
byron baybyron baybyron bay

the eastern most point of OZ below the lighthouse
up constant rights. Lennox was a homy little place where I ran into packs of young surfer girls who I would find out the next day were in for an all girls surf comp (good timing, unfortunately key word young). The current was amazingly strong up there and the waves unlike anything I've seen in my life (if only I could paddle!). I went out three times and only swam out in the right spot once pretty much just struggling not to get washed up on the rocks. I couldn't get out the back so I just surfed the white water. You learn something new each time you go out I'm finding. Conditions are different everywhere you go, so I'm learning a lot about currents(unfortunately getting abused by the ocean in the process). So that's the details for all the fun stuff of late, enjoy the pics, sorry a bit long-winded, shouldn't let the weeks pile up I guess


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Lennox HeadLennox Head
Lennox Head

Sunrise at lennox, this does it little justice. It was a moment that passed in less than a minute as the sun rose above the clouds and the water in front of me sparkled gold


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb