The Aussie Diaries: Blue Waters, Velvet Sand


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Coffs Harbour
August 21st 2000
Published: October 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Boambee BeachBoambee BeachBoambee Beach

It took me awile but I found a secluded stretch of sand.
I'm here on what I think is Boambee Beach, after my first real swim in the Pacific Ocean as well as in the waters of the southern hemisphere. It was reasonably warm and very shallow. The waters came complete with big Australian leaves floating by to startle me. It is a strange beach in that it is surrounded by trees and hills. Something that I am not used to.

I have the whole beach basically all to myself. It may have taken me one and half hours to find it, but I persevered. When I reached Boambee Creek Reserve I could hear the far off rumble of the surf, either that or a major highway, so I followed my inquisitive ear and ended up at my destination. It was a moment of triumph when I rounded the corner and saw the great big ocean just beyond the velvet blond sand. My first swim in Australia and I didn't get eaten by a shark. Hell yeah.




Note: The Aussie Diaries are a XX part series. The entries come directly unabridged from the journal I carried around with me on my first post-university adventure to the southern hemisphere. They are a bit on the rough side.


added october 28, 2005


Advertisement



Tot: 0.342s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 28; qc: 119; dbt: 0.1569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb