Blue Mountains and Wildlife


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Blue Mountains
February 28th 2008
Published: February 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Friendly wildlifeFriendly wildlifeFriendly wildlife

This is a very large, but friendly snake. It is a type of python, but I can't remember the exact name.
G'day mates!

Today was a fun day despite all the rain and temperatures in the 50-60's. I want on a private tour of the Blue Mountains with John from Luxury 4WD Tours. Our first stop was Featherdale Wildlife Park, a park full of native Australian wildlife. I got to pet Koalas, feed Kangaroos (which means 'I don't know' in Aborigine), and even hold a very large snake. After that we headed into the mountains. As you can see, from the pictures, the weather wasn't the greatest, but the clouds in the valley made it a unique experience. We had lunch in a great cafe in the small town of Leura before heading back to Sydney, stopping by the Sydney Olympic Park. Despite the weather, John was a great tour guide providing a lot of great information and history of the Blue Mountains, Australia and even the meaning of Kangaroo. And just some useful information, it's Koala's not Koala Bears. I hope you enjoy the pictures and tune in tomorrow morning for the next set of pictures (TBD). Cheers!




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Hungry KoalaHungry Koala
Hungry Koala

I think this Koala was more interested in eating eucalyptus leaves than me. It is not recommended to pet Koalas in the wild though. They aren't as friendly as the one here.
Let me out!Let me out!
Let me out!

This Koala wanted to come home with me. He was trying to escape - I have a video of his unsuccessful attempts. Sorry little mate, I don't think I could get you past US customs!
Kangaroos!Kangaroos!
Kangaroos!

I could have spent the whole day with them. I ran out of food for this kangaroo. A mean Emu stole the cup of Kangaroo food right out of my hand!
The Misty Blue MountainsThe Misty Blue Mountains
The Misty Blue Mountains

I thought the clouds in the valley was pretty cool. Do you know the Blue Mountains are named because of the evaporating eucalyptus oil from the trees makes the mountains appear blue?
More Blue MountainsMore Blue Mountains
More Blue Mountains

It is actually raining in this picture, but I didn't want the umbrella in the picture.
Me and the 3 sistersMe and the 3 sisters
Me and the 3 sisters

No, it's nothing kinky! The three sisters are the three peaks behind me. There is a legend about it. I'll tell you the story when I get back (or you can probably read about it on the internet).


28th February 2008

Too Cool!
Hey Frank, Love the photos. My students want you to bring them a koala! They loved the one trying to escape. Those darn emu's...such bullies. Anyway, sounds like you are having an adventure of a lifetime. I can't wait to hear all about it when you get back? Have you eaten any vegemite yet??? Toodles!!
28th February 2008

Sleeping Koala!!
OMG FRANK!! Can you go back and steal the sleeping koala for me? I will pay for shipping back to the U.S. so you don't have to worry about customs!! Soooooo cute! It looks like you're having a great time... Can't wait to hear all about it when you're back!
29th February 2008

CRAZY!!!@
U R THE MOST CRAZIEST PERSON WITH THE SNAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Who would want 2 hold a snake . Hope it was a trained snake . How did it feel. I would had 2 shower a thousand times, but i must admit the koala was pretty cute. Well have fun! Your Darling Niece Danielle.

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb