Australia


Advertisement
Published: June 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

CanberraCanberraCanberra

View of Lake Griffin from Black Mountain
I don't have to explain much about why I was in Australia in 2005 and 2006. Just want to post some photos here for sharing. During my one year in Canberra, I have taken trips to Adelaide and Cairns, and a train journey from Sydney to Perth. I will try to add another entry especially for the last trip.

Although many people have told me that Canberra is a boring place, I started to love it near the end of my stay. Yes, there are inconveniences living in that city (if you prefer to call it so), such as just when you need to get from A to B urgently, you find that there is no one taxi on the street, or after walking for half an hour and there is still no one in sight. But then, there is an atmosphere of peace, especially around the lake, that is not easily found elsewhere. And it is when I left the place that I missed it most: the gardens, the fresh air and the blue sky--all of which seem to be a luxury now at my home city.

An acquaintance of mine from mainland China had once asked
CanberraCanberraCanberra

Black Mountain and the TV Tower at back
me why they can have such a pleasant environment AND a high income TOGETHER in Australia. I could not promptly answer. But what surprised me was not the question itself but the underlying assumption that the two cannot coexist. Or I guessed, from what all experience had told him before his travelling abroad, the two may even be considered enemies.

Unfortunately, it seems ture that the moon is brighter in some places than in others.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

CanberraCanberra
Canberra

Parliament House
CanberraCanberra
Canberra

What a suburb looks like
CanberraCanberra
Canberra

Campus at ANU
Snowy MountainsSnowy Mountains
Snowy Mountains

3 Hours away from the Capital
Port Stephens, NSWPort Stephens, NSW
Port Stephens, NSW

Can you see any dolphins here?
NSW CoastlineNSW Coastline
NSW Coastline

Sports on the sand dunes
SydneySydney
Sydney

View of Circular Quay from the Harbour
SydneySydney
Sydney

Taronga Zoo and the City
SydneySydney
Sydney

Darling Harbour
SydneySydney
Sydney

Sydney Opera House
SydneySydney
Sydney

Sunset at the Sydney Harbour Bridge
Blue Mountains, Near SydneyBlue Mountains, Near Sydney
Blue Mountains, Near Sydney

The Three Sisters and the Skyway
Near CairnsNear Cairns
Near Cairns

Inside the Rainforest
Near CairnsNear Cairns
Near Cairns

Cape Tribulation
Wollongong, NSWWollongong, NSW
Wollongong, NSW

The industrial city at the back
Batemans Bay, NSWBatemans Bay, NSW
Batemans Bay, NSW

The nearest coastal town from Canberra
Gold CoastGold Coast
Gold Coast

Surfers Paradise


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb