Canberra


Advertisement
Published: February 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We were only in Canberra for 3 days but I thought it was worth an entry purely because despite it being the capital it is the quietest city I think I have seen, and definately the quietest capital!

Unfortunately this city did not get off to a good start. We went there via the coach which was a ten hour trip. After a suspect curry and a hostel in St Kilda which only had one fan between four people in temperatures that were apparently 38 degrees, I think I can safely say we werent feeling too great! I also managed to find my camera broke and a whole load of our washing being destroyed in a machine, which didnt add to a great feel about the city! lol.

Despite this, the hostel in Canberra was quite nice but quite big and quite emtpy, it also had a good location in the city centre. However, the city centre was just as quiet, all very bizarre to experience after Melbourne! We didnt do a lot here, Luc had a bug for most of the stay, and we did all the tourist things in one day!

I think the sparceness in things to do, and general lack of life in the city is based on the fact that they couldnt decide on whether Sydney or Melbourne should be the capital so they built on in between the two cities, almost gives it a bit of "The Truman Show" vibe.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb