Back in the USA


Advertisement
North America
June 28th 2006
Published: July 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

As we start our decent for BWI we fly low and slow over Annapolis. She is full in her summer beauty. It is early evening and the sun has just begun to set. The sky, a golden yellow, reflected off the water, breaks into a million little dancing prisms. There are still hundreds of sail boats on the water. I do miss that sight. It is America at her most beautiful.

The weather is in the 80’s according to the pilot. It looks like it has been a sunny day but the dark clouds of an impending summer storm lay heavy on the distant horizon. The weather seems to be mimicking my internal struggle.

I wonder what it will be like to be back in the US, I think to myself.

As we race to land the plane seems to accelerate… faster and faster. First trees then the grass flying by at a speed that makes my head spin. I want it to stop. Closer and closer we fly. I need time to think. Images of the past few weeks race through my head. A dread rushes over me like a wave; if we land I will lose everything I have gained from the experiences during my time away from home. I wish I could will this plane to stop.

We race to the tarmac……………………THUD!

One of the hardest landings I have had in a long time. It is as if we have just fallen out of the sky.

Home. Back to reality. I have lived what feels like a lifetime in just a few weeks. It has changed me, the question is how? Will this change my future? Will I be brave enough to let this change my future? What’s next?


Advertisement



Tot: 0.303s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 19; qc: 83; dbt: 0.198s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb