5 States, 10 Days, Bags of Cornick and Groceries


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
May 7th 2011
Published: January 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Imagine a 10-day interstate road trip in the states of Wyoming, Idaho, Montana, Utah and Nevada. Crazy, noh? But we did it! Thanks to stories, jokes, and bags of cornick (a Filipino snack of crispy, salty popped corn kernels), trail mix and potato chips. This is a trip even my coworkers cannot imagine themselves doing. Yeah we're cheap but, we know how to make the most out of it! With flying colors!

My friends from the Philippines and Canada flew into Salt Lake City, Utah. I flew in from Chicago. We rented a 9-seater Chevy Suburban from the airport to start our journey with 2 (unlucky) designated drivers. LOL!

Below is a summary of our trip. Details and my personal account on each location will be in the following posts of this travelblog. I wouldn't call this an itinerary, because to me, an itinerary is a plan yet to be executed. And ofcourse, we had to make adjustments as we executed the plan. So below is a summary of what actually happened in our trip. How many miles total? Approximately 1,500 miles.



May 7 Saturday. 5-hour drive north from Salt Lake City UT to Jackson Hole WY

May 8 Sunday. 1-hour drive north to Grand Teton National Park. After going around the park, all we really needed to do was drive just 1.5 hours more north to get into the Yellowstone National Park via its South Entrance but with the help of road patrol, we learned that this route is closed for the season! We instead took a 4-hour drive via Idaho to get to its West Entrance, thereby entering through West Yellowstone MT

May 9 Monday. Explore Yellowstone National Park

May 10 Tuesday. 5-hour drive south from from Yellowstone MT to Salt Lake City UT via I-15. Explore the city.

May 11 Wednesday. 5-hour drive from Salt Lake City UT to Tropic UT. Very scenic! Took designated bus around Bryce Canyon National Park

May 12 Thursday. Take designated bus around Bryce Canyon National Park. Drive to Kodachrome Basin State Park. We spent 3 hours in the evening taking the National Scenic Byway 12 for a couple more views to enjoy.

May 13-16 Friday to Monday. 4-hour drive from Tropic UT to Las Vegas NV. Watched Cirque de Soleil and explored the nightlife. My favorite part was eating at Jollibee, Chowking, and Goldilocks for all 3 days!

I have a fondness of taking photos of road signs for places I have never been to. Unfortunately, whenever my travel buddies tell me about an upcoming sign, I tend to miss them because I am just not quick enough! Thankfully, I captured quite a few good ones and I uploaded them in this post. 😊

My Kind of Souvenir Shopping : Groceries

I'm not the usual tourist who collects keychains or fridge magnets taken from different cities. I'm a little bit more practical. From Yellowstone, Wyoming, I took home a jar of huckleberry jam which I spread on my bagel for several weeks after the trip. From Montana, I bought a small canister of creamed honey made in Idaho. My friend who lives in Canada brought me a beautiful bottle of maple syrup which I drizzled on my sweet potato fries. The most amount I have left is sea salt from Bryce Canyon, Utah.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

YellowStone National ParkYellowStone National Park
YellowStone National Park

This national park encompasses 3 states: Wyoming, Montana, and Idaho
Tropic, UtahTropic, Utah
Tropic, Utah

Very close to the entrance to the Bryce Canyon National Park
State of NevadaState of Nevada
State of Nevada

We were still about an hour's drive away from Las Vegas


Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb