Snow and Sun equals tons of fun


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
February 21st 2010
Published: February 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

24th February 2010

I am slowly realizing why people love Oregon so much, everything is just 2 hrs away. If I have said this before, sorry but it is true 😄 Traveling with a toddler takes a lot of planning, what with meal times and nap times and even a day trip requires a minivan with truck loads of luggage 😊

When in bleary February the sun shone like a diamond, we were not going to let the weekend slip away to household chores and laziness. We grabbed our jackets and sweatshirts and headed for snow tubing at Mt. Hood. I have never been a skier and neither has K. You don't expect south Indians to be skiers, you can't do much when you have never had snow now, can you ? And if you know me well enough, you will soon realize I abhor winter, cold, rain and anything in that family. But snow tubing sounded like fun and we wanted to expose V to winter before it all melted away.

We picked the Mt. Hood SkiBowl just a mere 1 and a half hours away. It actually would have been close to 75 min if we hadn't lost our way and if the speed limit was like a little about 25 ! We got there around 11 and took the 11 -1 pm slot for snow tubing. V had some gear that he was not happy to get into, he looked like an artic explorer short by about 4 feet 😄 The Mr came wearing a leather jacket despite my telling him we were not going to Florida and froze for the first 1/2 half hour, and no I don't feel sorry for him!

V was of course not allowed on the main slope and there was a small bunny slope were he was allowed to tube. We lugged ourselves and the tubes up . It did look scary coming down that huge slope and there was ice more than snow which created some great speeds downhill. Leaving the men together I took off first and it was an exhilarating experience to say the least. Would have been even better if they had let me sit in the tube instead of balance like an acrobat.

Giving K some more time to make his mind on whether he wanted to tube or not, we went to the bunny slope. Jr was not happy at all until I took him up and then we slid him down the slope. Then we were rewarded with the first smile. It was precious! He wanted more. So we did this a couple of times lugging him up and tubing down. He soon grew impatient and kept wanting only the downhill part and could not fathom why I took such a long time to lug him up each time, kids these days! I saw my first snow only when I was 21, sheesh.

Anyway, I got to go 3 times down, the Mr got to go 4 times. Mr. V got to go many many times! There is a cool play area for kids which I think he enjoyed more, especially because I took off his snow suit. There are kiddie snow mobiles and ski slopes and what not. I almost wanted to be reborn as a kid here, so I could experience some of this.

The glorious weather made up some for the lack of fresh snow in a way and it was a day truly well spent. We ended the afternoon with a superb lunch at this restaurant I think. We did not expect the food to be good so I was not paying attention in the beginning. And we were taken by surprise. The burgers were so good and the onion rings were one of the best we have ever had. If only it were closer, I would go more frequently.

We definitely will be doing this again next winter, until then..I will await summer and all the nice things that come with beautiful sunshine.






Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



25th February 2010

Super da!!!!
25th February 2010

Hey good to know that u did cash in on the sunny weekend. S had to work, so we couldnt do a thing :(
25th February 2010

@ mayura
santh ode serunthu serunthu ne use panra terms um paaru :)
25th February 2010

@ jeenchu
yaar kitte solre super da? I wrote this blog, is it for V?? K does not even know that this is up, sigh!
25th February 2010

very nice to see the article and the fotos. good.
25th February 2010

AWESOME
Anu, Love to read your blogs! They are very amusing and very nicely written! The pictures are wonderful! It was nice to see Vrushab with his hair growing back. You and Karthik look fantastic as usual!. Take care and keep on sending us the wonderful blogs!
25th February 2010

@ santh
thank you! romba busy aa ne weekend la, pavam mayura.
25th February 2010

@ malabika
thanks so much malabika :) how is the little princess doing?
26th February 2010

Hi
Hey Anu, Nice pics..Looks like you guys had fun.We like this place too.Mt.Hood is one of my fav place in Portland..I love tubing ..
26th February 2010

@ Krupa
Awesome. I did not know you guys had already done it. We should all go next time.
4th March 2010

Awesome pics...
Looks like you guys had fun...I did my first snow tubing last yr and looking at your pics we may do it again this year :):):) And I was more scared than V I guess :):):) He seems to take it all in his stride!!!!
8th March 2010

@ Sowmya
The great weather actually made our day! And yeah, kids are more accommodative than we expect really.

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb