SLC to Canada


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
October 3rd 2008
Published: November 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

SLC to Toronto

From Salt Lake City, UTAH to Helena, MT then Great Falls,MT and into Canada. Up to Calgary,AB along to Swift Current,SK then Brandon,MB and Winnipeg,MB. Back to the USA and North Dakota, across the Straits of Mackinac to Port Huron and across back into Canada

SLCSLCSLC

Tours of Temple Square are provided regularly. These guests were missionaries being trained before embarking to TORONTO of all places. Curiously, she had to show profiency in Spanish?? before leaving. I didn't realize we had a large Spanish community.
.



Salt Lake City

I arrived here Saturday September 27, 2008 from Reno:
One especially attractive feature of this city is the wide streets. It's said that
Brigham Young had asked the architects to make the streets wide
enough that an ox cart would be able to turn around comfortably.

It was still warm there and I intended to see
the number one attraction of SLC : Temple Square, which I only saw
superficially the last time I was here.

Mormon missionaries are everywhere in the world. The tour guides are Mormon missionaries. And even though the young people of Utah
strive to be missionaries so as to cultivate social stature, the missionary-guides
I had were from Mongolia and Indonesia, not Utah. I assume the missionaries from Utah
are in places like Mongolia and Indonesia. The excellent training of the imported missionaries allowed
them to speak English fluently in six months so they said.

Looking at the weather reports for Canada, it looked like the end of summer was coming.

I headed north but stopped to visit my friend's father in Great Falls, MT. I didn't
expect a tour of the area which included the Lewis and Clark trails and the dams (providing
power for California?). Otherwise, I would have taken my camera. Anyhow, it was
an enjoyable visit.

That night I made it to Airdrie, Alberta just north of Calgary where I had a really long-overdue family reunion with my cousins. They've been snowbirding down south each winter for years.

A few days later I headed to Swift Current, Saskatchewan to say hello to a fellow traveller who had been
visiting Asia longer than myself. I didn't want to intrude on the Thanksgiving weekend so I
planned to get there before the traditional Monday feast but his family has it early and I was
invited to stay for a genuine friendly and hospitable traditional Thanksgiving dinner.

I continued through Regina and 3 inches of slushy snow gathered on the Trans Canada highway.
A jack-knifed 18 wheeler and other casualties on the highway illustrated the severity of the weather.

On to Winnipeg then south to North Dakota and across The Mackinac Straits to the Port Huron / Sarnia
border crossing home to Canada.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The Mormon TabernacleThe Mormon Tabernacle
The Mormon Tabernacle

Demonstrating how the acoustics allow one to hear a pin drop even at the far end of the audience
Joe and Leona: CalgaryJoe and Leona: Calgary
Joe and Leona: Calgary

My favourite cousins with bonus pedeha (pierogi) stop.
Asia 1978Asia 1978
Asia 1978

Warren
Thanksgiving 2008Thanksgiving 2008
Thanksgiving 2008

Fellow traveller,Warren's, dinner invite.
ReginaRegina
Regina

What's wrong with this picture? SNOW! October 19, 2008.
The Mackinac BridgeThe Mackinac Bridge
The Mackinac Bridge

Currently the third longest suspension bridge in the world.


Tot: 1.256s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb