Sedona, San Diego and San Francisco


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
March 28th 2008
Published: February 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My road trip started with a lots of driving with 30 hours to Phoenix in two days. The reasoning was that I had two friends who flew to Phoenix to meet me for five days of camping and hiking in the Sedona area. These friends Betty and Michelle were wonderful travel partners and very tolerate of somebody traveling with two dogs.. We hiked each day for 2-4 hours, enjoyed our camp site by the river, they tolerated my premade frozen food, which was then thawed by my camp stove and sleeping in a tent with two dogs. We finished the trip with a night in Flagstaff , good Mexican food and then the interesting drive from Flagstaff to Phoenix where you start with snow on the ground and end with saguaro cacti. This was the beginning to an unintended theme, friends. The highlight is Sedona was much more about getting to know these amazing friends better. Of course the scenery was pretty amazing also.

San Diego was my next stop and once again the drive from Phoenix to San Diego was interesting. I got to see some cacti in blow, sand dunes, large mountains of rock in southern California and then the coast. I was in San Diego to visit my brother, Kent and his family and also got lucky and saw an old friend who was working on a cruise ship for her 3 hours off between cruises. It was great to see my nieces and nephews, but because of tax season I didn’t get to see much of Teri, my sister in law. My brother and I had more of chance to talk then probably ever in our lifetimes and I wish him luck with his children in their teen age years.

San Francisco was the next stop. I did take the coastal highway on the way there and also stopped to see another friend in LA. About 15 years ago my brother Craig and I took a cross country trip and drove the coastal highway on a rainy overcast day. This time I got it right, it was sunny, spring flowers and close to perfect weather.

San Francisco
A couple of years ago I spent a couple of days just walking San Francisco, but this time I got to see it through the eyes of friends. My friend Heather, let me stay with her even though it was the busiest time of year for her work which was tax returns. She has a great place, where I was able to walk to a park on the bay to walk my dogs each morning and see more of the residential side of the city. I also got to spend a day with an old friend Tasha and her family. It was nice to see the city through their eyes, to hike near the Golden Gate Bridge, eat wonderful ethic food, get to know her daughters and have a wonderful dinner of Indian food with her whole family.






Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Connor at batConnor at bat
Connor at bat

I got to see my nephew Connor play baseball in San Diego
Chamberlain dogsChamberlain dogs
Chamberlain dogs

my brother's family dogs and my two make for a great photo for the Cingular aids


Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb