Home-less & Lost!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
August 9th 2007
Published: August 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

AmsterdamAmsterdamAmsterdam

Schipol Airport
I last left you in Belgium! I have now made it back to Colorado (see pics below)

Since then, the Travel Blog website crashed & everyone's blog was lost, mine included! Hope you enjoyed; it was as fleeting as the trip. (Now, apparently 21 of the 22 entries have been restored)

So, some closing comments & highlights!

First of all, thanks to all of you for spending time to check in with me during my travels; it certainly was a lot of fun, & I looked forward to each entry. As people have asked me, yes, I am certainly glad I took the trip; it will be a life-time highlight. In many ways, it was as expected-fun, exciting & interesting as well as challenging (mostly regarding dirt, heat & schedules). I had plenty of time to think & despite the caloric disaster in Belgium, it was a healthy trip for me.

I've now returned home, sort of. Home to Boulder that is but my new condo will not be closing until Sept 7, so my bags remain packed. It is coming along nicely (see pic below), & it will be extra great to finally get in there. For you over ambitious readers, the new address will be: 3683 Pinedale St unit C Boulder, CO 80301

And so goes the Summer in the year 20-O seven (ala Charles Osgood-Sunday Morning)


Additional photos below
Photos: 67, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

BostonBoston
Boston

Logan Airport
ManchesterManchester
Manchester

New Hampshire
ChicagoChicago
Chicago

Midway
ColoradoColorado
Colorado

DIA (Denver International Airport)
BoulderBoulder
Boulder

Home! (as of Sept. 7) 3683 Pinedale St Unit C
LuggageLuggage
Luggage

That's me
Best CooperBest Cooper
Best Cooper

Colonial Williamsburg
Best Day from the west side of the AtlanticBest Day from the west side of the Atlantic
Best Day from the west side of the Atlantic

Me & Gulio(sp?) down by the beach
Best PosterBest Poster
Best Poster

Clearly, he has his uncle's smile
Most Memorable/Interesting Person I MetMost Memorable/Interesting Person I Met
Most Memorable/Interesting Person I Met

Alex B. (you edged out Nick, the ladies man, I bunked with in Athens)
Best Soccer Game of the tripBest Soccer Game of the trip
Best Soccer Game of the trip

Mr. Kick scored a hat trick!
Best KittiesBest Kitties
Best Kitties

You two are so cute! (I spared you the smored face picture Sarah)
Best Blogger AwardBest Blogger Award
Best Blogger Award

Brother Barry (far right)! Tight race for second place between Sarah & Aaron. (Best Ugh boots-Alex)
Best Bar ViewBest Bar View
Best Bar View

Guiness Brewery, Dublin
Best Drink of the tripBest Drink of the trip
Best Drink of the trip

Irish Whiskey at Temple Bar in the Temple Bar district, Dublin
Spectacular View-IrelandSpectacular View-Ireland
Spectacular View-Ireland

The Cliffs of Mohr
Best View-East side of the AtlanticBest View-East side of the Atlantic
Best View-East side of the Atlantic

Sunset, 10:17 PM Irish time


12th August 2007

Complaint comment
Well I am a little distressed that I was unable to win the Best Blogger award, becuase I am pretty sure that I might have even beaten out my dad, and as far as it was a tight close for seconded between me and Uncle A..my dad even agreed that I definetly beat out Uncle Aaron. I clearly wrote more blogs than he did. Even if you are talking about quality vs. quantity.
12th August 2007

Sorting through comments
1. Grammatical note-kinda is actually kind of (sorry buddy; I am a teacher). 2. We all know you haven't actually strangled Sadie. yet. 3. Your ways confuse me Alex? First, shame for Wikipeding (although I'm guilty as well); remember Blackle is the wave of the future. Yes, you are correct that the pyramids are the only of the original 7 ancient wonders still standing; did I imply otherwise? At the Colossus of Rhodes are two deer statues where the foot prints of the statue once stood stradling Mondraki Harbor (supposedly; as historians continue to question the accuracy of it all).
12th August 2007

Best Blogger Niece Award
goes to Sarah Margolin! Uncle Aaron in his deceitful ways sent me several notes via regular email, so I'll have to review the decision with the judges to find out if that's legit. for best blogger runner-up.
12th August 2007

Nick & Sydney
You may have to track Nick down in Sydney; shouldn't be hard-follow the flock of ladies. Did I misspell Ug, Ugh, Ugg? As for skiing, thanks; I'll send photos. Will you be on the slopes? And how goes the college search? Are you still going or have you changed your sites to be "swing shift" manager somewhere?
13th August 2007

Time For The Blog To End
Steve, As always you brought smile and (controversey) our house with your lastest and greatest blog entry. The Best of everything was a wonderful finishing touch to a fabulous summer of guessing and adventure. I thank you for winning the Best Blogger Award (even though there was much disagreement in our house) and for the double visit you had this summer. Looking forward to seeing you again and the best of luck in the new condo. I will be in touch. To keep in the spirit of your last blog entry I would like to end with a little poem::There is a rhyme by Clarence Day which says what I want to say: 'Farewell, my friends-farewell, and hail/I'm off to seek the Holy Grail/I cannot tell you why. Remember, please, when I am gone/'twas aspiration led me on./Tiddly, widdly, toodle-oo/All I want is to stay with you.' But...here I go. Goodbye." — Kuralt's final words as host of Sunday Morning with Charles Kuralt. Thanks for wonderful adventure-This Houston control signing off!!!!
13th August 2007

Alex Responds
o0o0o0o0...I guess I thought the column jawn w/ the deer on top was supposed to be the Colossus of Rhodes...I comprehend now. That's what I get for jumping to conclusions. I don't know what you mean about being "swing shift" manager, but that definitely sounds more appealing than college. No, I kid, I kid...we visited Tufts...it was great...awesome location, too. Though now I'm convinced I won't get into Cornell OR Tufts, which would be royally depressing. I think I'll try skiing in Ugg boots. Oh, and I've always wanted to go to Australia ;0
13th August 2007

best blogger
Keep in mind, i think that my private comments should count towards the best blogger since most of my comments were about that other blogger Sarah something or other and i did not want to make her feel bad as to have shared my comments with the rest of the travel troupe.
13th August 2007

Duly
Noted
13th August 2007

Aptly earned
Worthy of your award, graceful final words. The double visit this summer was very nice, and I have indeed felt a little Kuralt in me from time to time. Regarding the house controversy, sorry about that; as Josh knows, I don't like clouds of controversy. Maybe a Margolin family trip someday?
14th August 2007

I protest Sarah's best niece blogger award. She is your only niece and thus has no competition. However, she should get a reward for having the best smiles and expressions (which she might get from her aunt!). Additionally, her comments were thoughtful - well maybe she deserves the award. thanks for sharing your travels with us.
15th August 2007

Response to the "private commenter uncle"<--Uncle Aaron
Well I am sorry but as far as I am concerned private comments cannot count. The comments that count are the ones that everyone sees. So sorry Uncle Aaron but I am afraid you lose, and I have nothing more to say on this matter. I won an award and I failed to see where Uncle Aaron's award is?? But I am gonna be the bigger person and say this.. Love you uncle Aaron! =]
18th August 2007

It's True
Sarah won an actual award-best blogging niece; whereas, Uncle Aaron only got honorable mention.
20th August 2007

Genetic Thread
Upon closer examination of Grandma and Michelle's blog it's quite ovious that the "Best Blogging Niece" is sounding very much as her Aunt and her Grandmother. Visually she is beginning to look a lot like the both of them. I hold no grudges receiving honorable mention.

Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb