2 Days On The Road


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming
May 30th 2009
Published: May 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Alaska Trip (1)Alaska Trip (1)Alaska Trip (1)

All Loaded Up Friday, 5/29
Well, I finally got on the road about 10:30 AM Friday, a little later than I was hoping. My buddy Bryan stopped by to wish me well and loan me his tent and 2 sleeping bags. (one for me and one for???) Just kidding. One is a zero degree bag and the other more of a medium weight bag. I said I would try camping!

Friday I made it to Gothenburg, Nebraska, about 730 miles from home straight west on I-80. Wow, Illinois, Iowa, Eastern Nebraska. If you woke up in any of these states, I dare you to tell me where you are. Thank God for audiobooks.

Of course, Gothenburg is very famous for having a Pony Express Station in the center of town. 😊

I had hoped to make it to Jackson, Wyoming on Saturday, but that was not to be. I'm currently sitting in Rock Springs, WY, about 180 miles south of Jackson. About 20 miles west of Laramie on I-80, I ran into a freak snow/sleet/hail/rain storm near Elk Mountain. It piled up about 6 inches in minutes. Isn't this May 30th? One minute it was 63 degrees and clear the next minute it was 39 and sleeting. The police stopped everything on I-80 for about 1-1/2 hours. When they finally got us moving, I saw at least 8 or 10 motorcycles heading east through the stuff. I felt sorry for them. One bike was lying on it's side on the shoulder. There was some packed frozen ice in the lanes making it treacherous. I'm so glad I wasn't on the bike!

About 150 miles after that delay, I stopped at a rest area and while driving away, I heard noises coming from the rear of the truck. I lucked out and found a weekend mechanic in Rawlins who found a small broken piece from the emergency brake. That killed another 1-2 hours so I decided to drive another 110 miles to Rock Springs where I currently sit. Next stop Jackson and Teton National Park.






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Alaska Trip (5)Alaska Trip (5)
Alaska Trip (5)

Pony Express Station
Alaska Trip (6)Alaska Trip (6)
Alaska Trip (6)

Freak Storm on I-80
Alaska Trip (10)Alaska Trip (10)
Alaska Trip (10)

Yes, That's a motorcyle. When I first got to it, it was lying on it's side!


31st May 2009

Global Warming?
Wow, what freakish weather, eh? I'm glad you're not on your bike, too! Keep on truckin'...
31st May 2009

Have fun!
So when does this camping begin?!? Hopefully not in the snow :)
2nd June 2009

Soon
I plan to camp at Glacier National Park. I'm thinking a place called Sprague's Creek on the Highway to the Sun.
3rd June 2009

2 sleepingbags??
Only a "guy friend" would give you 2 sleepingbags!!
5th June 2009

One not Big Enough
Bryan said that I could zip the 2 bags together to make one bag big enough gfor two!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb