Riverton-Grand Teton National Park- Flagg Ranch


Advertisement
Published: September 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

William at the Grand Teton National ParkWilliam at the Grand Teton National ParkWilliam at the Grand Teton National Park

William at the Grand Teton National Park September 2011
September 06 Riverton-Grand Teton National Park- Flagg Ranch Campground
I got an early start this morning and went by the SuperWalmart here in Riverton to get some groceries as I figured they would be much more expensive in the mountains. I noticed that there were a dozen or more RV’s and peoples vehicles parked along the East side of the parking lot so I guess they allow overnight parking. I did not see any signs saying otherwise. After getting my supplies I made sure to top off my gas tank and went by the MacDonalds for a couple of senior coffee’s and to catch up my blog and send out emails. After taking care of that I headed Northwest out of Riverton on Hwy 26. I figured it to be about 140 miles from Riverton to the Grand Tetons which wasn’t too bad but about a 20 mile stretch of road construction really slowed me down especially as on several sections you had to wait for the scout car to bring the cars from the west before you could follow the scout car West….at 10 to 15 mph.
I finally got to the Grand Teton National Park and I must say
even though I have been here before It was awesome. I explored it from middle to bottom on the outer road and then bottom to top on the inner road. It was magnificent.
Because of the delays due to the construction on Hwy 26 it was getting late so I opted to just stay at the Flag Ranch Campground for the evening and night and go on to Yellowstone tomorrow. It was hugely expensive with a tent site (which is what I got) costing $37.80.
Full hookup sights were around $65……..extortionist !!!! You would think that at that price they would at least have free wireless, but no.
What they do have and in abundance are voracious mosquitoes who I am having to fend off as I write this. I have killed several but their numbers don’t seem to be diminishing any.
Well…guess I had better close up shop and quit feeding the mosquitoes. You are not supposed to feed the wildlife here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Jenny's LakeJenny's Lake
Jenny's Lake

Jenny's Lake with the Grand Tetons in the background. Jenny's Lake was carved out by a glacer and in places is over 200 feet deep.


Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0969s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb