Teton & Yellowstone


Advertisement
Published: June 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

North to Alaska


Alaska Trip b 002Alaska Trip b 002Alaska Trip b 002

They rebuild the Arches With New Antlers Every 2 Years
I spent today seeing more of Grand Teton National Park. I headed into town for a couple more pictures without rain. I did some hiking around the Jenny Lake and Cascade Canyon part of the park. It was a pleasant day with temps in the 60's and partly sunny. There are 2 lakes in the park, a small one, Jenny Lake and a very large one, Jackson Lake, to the north. I originally planned to bypass Yellowstone because I have been there 6-7 times in winter on snowmobile trips. The plan was to drive into Idaho on a road north of Teton called Grassy Lake Road, a gravel road that winds through the mountains for about 40 miles to the town of Ashton, ID. In talking to a young guy who works as a tour guide at the Silver Dollar Bar last night, I asked him about that route and he said that it is beautiful, but to ask the rangers if it's open before heading there. Well, it did open today, but was only open a few miles, still snowed in. The Rockies got a tremendous amount of snow this spring and I guess it will take a while to melt.

So, I headed north into Yellowstone. I have never been to the southern part of the park on the sleds, so I got to see some new places: Lewis River Canyon, Lewis Lake and Black Sand Geyser Basin. This part of the park still had good size remnants of snow plow banks and Lewis Lake was still iced in. After temps in the 60's, the temps here dropped into the high 40's. I only saw one elk along the road and got a quick picture driving by, but the buffalo were plentiful and I took a couple of shots of them. I left the park through the west entrance at the town of West Yellowstone, MT, where we stay for the sled trips and it brought back a lot of good memories.

I wanted to put some more miles on and get a little closer to my next destination, Glacier National Park, so I drove US 287 northwest from West Yellowstone. It was a great ride along the Madison River. I pushed on and made it to Missoula, where I'll spend the night. Hopefully, tomorrow I'll get to Glacier, about 3 hours north in time to get
JacksonJacksonJackson

First Picture of me--Check Out The New Hiking Boots!!
a campsite.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Jenny Lake-TetonJenny Lake-Teton
Jenny Lake-Teton

Jenny Lake-Teton
Jackson LakeJackson Lake
Jackson Lake

From North End of Park
Lewis River Canyon-YellowstoneLewis River Canyon-Yellowstone
Lewis River Canyon-Yellowstone

Still Showing Damage From The Fire of 1988
Lewis Lake-YellowstoneLewis Lake-Yellowstone
Lewis Lake-Yellowstone

June 1st and still a Lot of Ice
Yellowstone ElkYellowstone Elk
Yellowstone Elk

This is The Only One I Saw. They've all moved to the Higher Elevations.
Yellowstone BisonYellowstone Bison
Yellowstone Bison

I still prefer "Buffalo"


10th June 2009

Jenny Lake
WOW! Love the Jenny lake. So beautiful. tee hee hee
10th June 2009

Awesome Shot
That is an awesome shot of Jackson lake!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb