EAA Airventure Day 3


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Oshkosh
July 25th 2012
Published: August 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I have an idea that this is going to be a reasonably short entry; I am exhausted from all the walking and the sun. I had what appears to be the normal morning for me in Oshkosh. Early up and then breakfast followed by a walk to the flightline.
I had a plan this morning, I would put my chair on the flight line first thing. This meant that my spot would be reserved for thhe airshow the afternoon, and no one would be walking, or standing in front of me. This went off well.
I took a walk down to the warbirds area to see if anything new had arrived overnight, and as normal, something had. The aircraft that most noteable stood out was the A-36 Apache Fighter aircraft. I would have called it a P-51 if I didnt know better, but this aircraft has an Allison engine in, and never performed well in high altitude flight. This is actually the P-51A, but was never called by that name.
The afternoon airshow was once again entertaining, but very repetitive. The acts never cease to amaze me, but you can hear each act has a script that the commentator just reads. The script is read with a lot of emotion, but exactly the same words and jokes and comments are made each day. Each airshow performer is apparently considered "by many to be the best airshow aerobatic pilot in Nortth America today." This line was used by at least 3 solo performers.
I sat next to two teenagers, Logan and Matt, and had a good conversation with them about aviation and their interests. I waited with them after the show to see the monstrous C-17 depart. This departure was in itself amazing, such a huge aircraft took 1500 feet of runway to get airborne. The pilot then clombed out steeply and banked to the right, and away they went.
I bought myself an EAA Airventure 2012 Patch. I saw a few really cool patch jackets at the show, and plan to make my own. I want a patch for every aircraft that I have flown in on there.
The Goodyear Blimp came into Oshkosh as the sun was setting and disappeared behind the trees at the nearby Pioneer Airport.
This entry ends here, I am too tired to type anything more.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb