Rome...not built in a day, but toured in two


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Milwaukee
September 15th 2009
Published: September 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Planning. My addiction and the bane of my existence. I'm knee-deep in various tour websites. I've got three firefox windows open, and at least 7 tabs in each. I've got a word document open for taking notes. I feel like I'm drowning in dates, times, euros, dollars... This really isn't relaxing, but I gain some pleasure from it anyway. When I'm done I'll be confident I've arranged the best little whirlwind Roman stint there ever could be. For us, anyway.

On the cruise end of things....there's really not much. We were booked on the 11th of this month and the deposit has been made. I've already switched dining preferences once. 915 is just too dang late. As sailing date gets closer and shore excursions become available, I'm sure I'll explode. Contemplating options like I am now for Rome, except more ports and less time to do everything.

I suppose I should back up a little. I'm not really writing for an audience of strangers, but I don't want to require friends & family to register to read this. They should already know what's going on, but for those that don't and somehow stumble in here, I'll tell you anyway.

My boyfriend Carlos & I are taking our first cruise on Royal Caribbean's Navigator of the Seas in April next year. The 12 day trip departs from Civitavecchia with several other stops in Italy, two in Greece, one in Turkey and an overnight in Egypt. We plan to fly into Rome a couple days early and see what there is to see, so I'm working right now on the what and the where.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb