The Start of Three Months


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Madison
September 20th 2012
Published: September 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I'm sitting in my room, surrounded by the luggage that I will essentially be living out of for the next few months, I'm becoming flooded with almost every emotion possible. I could not be more excited to be embarking on an experience of a lifetime, to the world that is very much unknown to me. This isn't an opportunity that comes around often. But between Katie and myself, and our wonderful families, we've made this happen. A year worth of planning is about to come down to today as we head to Chicago to catch an evening flight to Paris (our layover before Abuja). I could not be more scared to leave my room, my cat Roo, and my father, who is very much my support system. It'll be quite the wake up call when I must handle my first stressful situation with him thousands of miles away and hardly anyway to easily contact him. I have faith in myself and in Katie that we will be able to handle whatever comes at us, but it doesn't make the apprehension go away by any means. I am aware though that these are extremely normal feelings that everyone experiences in their lifetime. Those who went off to college this year felt the same way, just without leaving the United States. I'm so fortunate and so very excited so that's enough of me rattling on about my emotions.

Our first destination is Abuja, the capital city of Nigeria. One of my uncles is from Nigeria and because of this we're provided with the rare opportunity to stay with his sister for a week. We wanted to have new experiences this year and this is about as new as we can get. Claire, our wonderful host, will be picking us up at the airport when we arrive tomorrow. It'll be great to see her, as I haven't since Thanksgiving, when she came to Madison. I'm not quite sure what is in store for us during our trip to Nigeria, but it's bound to be very eye-opening and exciting. We're going into it without many plans, but I suppose that is when the greatest adventures take place.

I'm so lucky to have the wonderful support that I do and this opportunity to experience the world first-hand. I'm so greatful that I have Katie as a travel companion; I would be utterly lost without her to say the least. This whole trip is more meaningful when I have someone to share it with. Thank you for reading and I hope to keep you entertained with tales and updates over the next three months. I miss all of you very much. I hope everyone is doing well in their own lives and having a wonderful time. So much love.

Hannah.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 17; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb