Lambeau Field


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Green Bay
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tailgating at Lambeau FieldTailgating at Lambeau FieldTailgating at Lambeau Field

Here's Ike and Trina in the parking lot of Lambeau Field where I tailgated for lunch after touring the stadium.
I “packed” a lot in to today (pun intended)! I visited one of the most storied venues in the NFL - Lambeau Field in Green Bay, Wisconsin.

Today’s stop was one where I didn’t have to worry about finding a place to park. I figured I could easily maneuver around in the stadium parking lot and I was correct.

I learned today they are celebrating 50 years at Lambeau Field this season. I also discovered some other interesting tidbits about my favorite NFL team. The Packers are the only team in professional sports owned by a community and operated as a nonprofit organization.

I also learned that Earl Lambeau was the founder, VP, head coach and player. He coached for 31 years and won 6 championships.

It was a fun time taking a tour of the stadium and visiting the hall of fame.

I then had a leisurely drive up the Door County Peninsula arriving about 5:30. The campground is quite nice and the owners are very accommodating and helpful. They have a chocolate lab - Winston - and told me another camper is here with a chocolate lab.

After dinner I drove around
Must be in the Front RowMust be in the Front RowMust be in the Front Row

Here's a view from the front row. I'm standing right next to the tunnel where the Packers run on to the field. As you can see, they are working on the field and we were not able to go down through the tunnel.
the small community where I’m staying. It should be a fun and relaxing couple of days here. The owners marked all the must see photographic stops and told me all about the fish boil - a local tradition I may check out.

I have internet here, but have to go over to the office. So I’ll wrap this up and stroll over and upload the journal and a few images from my exciting day at Lambeau Field.

I’m sitting outside the campground office at a wrought iron table. The mosquitoes are having a feast. Hopefully this will upload quickly.

I have more photos, but they will have to wait until another time. The mosquitoes are eating up both Chessy and me.

Goodnight.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Bailey's HarborBailey's Harbor
Bailey's Harbor

There was fog on Lake Michigan at 5:30 when I rolled into town. It was still foggy when I went back downtown. This is a view from the marina at Bailey's Harbor.


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb