Is it Holy to Play?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
May 28th 2011
Published: June 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today I woke up at 6:40 am - 11 hrs of sleep. Wow. I guess I was tired. My backside is terribly sore from yesterday's 12 mile bike ride on dirt and gravel with a heavy backpack. Ouch. That's smarts. Our trout was served for breakfast and many people offered their thanks. Matins this morning was on "playing" and how we can be more present in the moment and get lost in the wonder of play time. The registrar's children, Sophie and Toby were used as examples and Jesus welcoming the children (Luke 18:15-17) was the scripture text. It inspired me to relax more and look for ways to be more child-like today. i look forward to experiencing the holy as I play.

I spent 4+ hours in the craft cave weaving. It looks like it will end up a place mat or a wall hanging. I enjoyed visiting with Scott, the village pastor, over lunch. I squeezed in one more fishing hike up R.R. Creek and after trying my best in a new section, I ended up back at my favorite hole. This time I used my fly rod exclusively and caught one golden and one rainbow. I was pleased that they were 7-8 inches long. Tonight we enjoyed Holden Evening Prayer for worship - only here the original books say Vespers Service 1986. It was so cool it gave me goosebumps. After 3 games of pool and 2 games of ping pong to finish my play time I was back in bed at 10:00 pm. Another good day.

Thank you Lord for times of rest and play. Amen!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb